NCAA Men's Tennis Singles and Doubles Selections Announced

May 2, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Ten Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes will be among the 64 competitors in the 2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Singles Championship, to be held May 22-27 at the Khan Outdoor Tennis Complex/Atkins Tennis Center in Urbana, Ill.

Virginia’s Alex Domijan earned the ACC’s automatic qualifying spot and is seeded No. 2 in the singles field. Also selected to the field were Duke’s Henrique Cunha, Michael Redlicki and Fred Saba, Clemson’s Yannick Maden, Georiga Tech’s Juan Spir, North Carolina’s Esben Hess Olesen, and Virginia’s Mitchell Frank, Jarmere Jenkins and Mac Styslinger. Virginia’s Ryan Shane and Harrison Richmond, and Virginia Tech’s Amerigo Contini were selected as singles alternates. Eight ACC tandems are among the 32-team doubles field, led by automatic qualifier pair of Henrique Cunha and Raphael Hemmeler who are seed No. 2 in the tournament, and the Virginia duo of Jarmere Jenkins and Mac Styslinger with the No. 4 seed.

ACC tandems who earned at-large berths include, Clemson’s Dominque and Yannick Maden, Duke’s Michael Redlicki and Jason Tahir, Florida State’s Dominic Cotrone and Blake Davis, Vikram Hundal and Juan Spir of Georgia Tech, NC State’s Sean Weber and Dave Thomson, and Alex Domijan and Mitchell Frank of Virginia.

Georgia Tech’s Juan Spir and Eduardo Segura, Virginia Tech’s Amerigo Contini and Andreas Bjerrehus, and Wake Forest’s David Hopkins and Amogh Prabhakar were chosen as doubles alternates.

The ACC will also be well-represented in the NCAA men's team competition, which gets under way on May 10. Second-seeded Virginia, No. 9-seeded Duke, Clemson, Florida State, NC State, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest all earned spots in the field of 64.

Below is a complete list of ACC student-athletes who will be competing in the NCAA Division I singles and doubles championship tournaments (numbers indicate national seeding).

Automatic Qualifiers
2. Alex Domijan, Virginia

Singles At-Large
Henrique Cuhna, Duke
Mitchell Frank, Virginia
Esben Hess-Olesen, North Carolina
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia
Yannick Madden, Clemson
Michael Redlicki, Duke
Fred Saba, Duke Juan Spir, Georgia Tech
Mac Styslinger, Virginia

Singles Alternates
Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech
Ryan Shane, Virginia
Harrison Richmond, Virignia

2. Henrique Cunha/Raphael Hemmeler, Duke
4. Jarmere Jenkins/Mac Styslinger, Virginia
Dominque Maden/Yannick Maden, Clemson
Michael Redlicki/Jason Tahir, Duke
Dominic Cotrone/Blake Davis, Florida State
Vikram Hundal/Juan Spir, Georgia Tech
Dave Thomson/Sean Weber, NC State
Alex Domijan/Mitchell Frank, Virginia

Doubles Alternates
Amerigo Contini/Andreas Bjerrehus, Virginia Tech
David Hopkins/Amogh Prabhakar, Wake Forest
Juan Spir/Eduardo Segura, Georgia Tech