Six ACC Teams Earn Spots In NCAA Men's Tennis Field

May 1, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Third-seeded Virginia leads a group of six Atlantic Coast Conference teams in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championship field. Eighth-seeded Duke, 15th-seeded North Carolina, Florida State, NC State and Virginia Tech also earned sports in the tournament, as announced by the NCAA early Tuesday evening.

The 64-team NCAA Tournament opens the weekend of May 11-13 with the first two rounds at campus site. The quarterfinals, semifinals and finals will be held at Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga., from May 18-22.

The individual singles and doubles championships will also be held in Athens following the NCAA Team Championships. That competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 23 and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 28. Individuals selected to compete in those championships will be announced Wednesday evening.

ACC champion Virginia, Duke and North Carolina will be host teams for the first and second rounds, and all will open play at 12 noon on Saturday, May 12 Virginia (24-1), making its ninth straight appearance as a national seed and regional host, will face Fairleigh Dickinson (15-8) in the opening round, while Duke (22-5) will play host to George Washington (17-7). North Carolina (13-7) will welcome College of Charleston (18-4).

NC State (20-9) travels to Malibu, Calif., where it will face Washington (15-8) at 2 p.m. Eastern time on Friday, May 11. Virginia Tech (11-11) will travel to Gainesville, Fla. to face Harvard (22-2) in a 9 a.m. match on Saturday, May 12. In another 9 a.m. match on May 12, Florida State (18-9) squares off against Boise State (26-6) at Athens, Ga.

Duke is making its 21st straight appearance in the NCAA Tournament and 22nd overall. North Carolina will be appearing for the 13th straight year, the 20th time in 21 years, and the 22nd time overall. Florida State will be appearing for the 10th straight year (13th overall). Virginia Tech earned a spot for the sixth straight time (12th overall). NC State, back in the NCAA Tournament field for the first time since 2007, will be making its fifth overall appearance.

Please see the link below for a complete NCAA Men’s Championship bracket.