Mullins Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist

Dec. 6, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – North Carolina’s Crystal Dunn, Virginia’s Caroline Miller and Maryland’s Patrick Mullins have been selected as finalists for the prestigious Missouri Athletic Club’s (MAC) Hermann Trophy.

Along with Dunn and Miller, Penn State midfielder Christine Nairn rounds out the three women’s finalists. On the men’s side, Notre Dame forward Ryan Finley and Creighton midfielder Jose Gomez join Mullins as finalists.

All three were ACC major award winners as Miller was named the ACC Women’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Year, Dunn, the ACC Women’s Soccer Defensive Player of the Year and Mullins, the ACC Men’s Soccer Offensive Player of the Year.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. A banquet will be hosted at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, to recognize the finalists' accomplishments and announce the winners.

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members voted for their top three choices. Additionally, a new fan voting component was added to this year’s voting process, hosted by LockerDome,  through which nearly 130,000 total fan votes were cast.

About the Missouri Athletic Club
The Missouri Athletic Club has been presenting college soccer player of the year awards since 1986. The MAC was established in 1903 as an athletic, dining and social club. It has a “Platinum Club of America” status, which is awarded to the top private clubs in the country. To learn more about the Missouri Athletic Club, go to