2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Soccer Honors Announced

Nov. 10, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – First-place finisher North Carolina captured three major individual awards, and Duke’s Andrew Wenger earned Offensive Player of the Year honors to highlight the 2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer Team announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Wenger, a junior forward who previously played the back line, earned the conference’s top offensive honor one year after being named the 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year. The Lititz, Pa., native became the first player to capture both the ACC Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year Awards.

The Tar Heels’ Matt Hedges was named the 2011 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, while UNC coach Carlos Somoano received Coach of the Year honors, and Mikey Lopez was voted Freshman of the Year in balloting among the league’s nine head coaches.

Hedges, a senior who transferred to UNC from Butler prior to this season, earned the distinction of being named Defensive Player of the Year in two Division I conferences. The Carmel, Ind., defender was voted the 2010 Horizon League Defensive Player of the Year. This season, Hedges has spearheaded a UNC defense that has allowed an ACC-low 13 goals in 19 matches (0.66 per game) and has posted an ACC-leading eight shutouts.

Somoano, in his first year as a head coach, has led the Tar Heels to a 15-2-2 overall record and a No. 3 national ranking heading into Friday night’s ACC Championship semifinal game against Virginia. In addition to its defensive prowess, Somoano’s UNC team leads the conference in goals scored (45). Lopez, a midfielder from Mission, Texas, has contributed both defensively and at the offensive end, tallying nine points on three assists and three goals, including one game-winner.

Duke’s Wenger enters the ACC Championship semifinals leading the ACC in goals scored (17), points (42) and shots taken (105). He ranks third nationally in points per game (2.21). Wenger has tallied more than one goal in six matches, including a pair of hat tricks, and has delivered eight multiple-point performances.

Maryland, which finished second in the conference regular-season standings and is ranked fourth nationally, led all schools with six players voted to the first or second All-ACC team. North Carolina followed with five selections. Lopez was one of an ACC-high three Tar Heels named to All-ACC Freshmen Team.

In addition to Duke’s Wenger, repeat All-ACC selections from the 2010 season include Boston College’s Charlie Rugg and Kyle Bekker, Duke’s James Belshaw, Maryland’s Casey Townsend, Virginia’s Brian Owenby and North Carolina’s Enzo Martinez.

In addition, Boston College’s Chris Ager, Clemson’s Cody Mizzell, Duke’s Sebastien Ibeagha, Maryland’s Patrick Mullins, Virginia’s Brian Span and Wake Forest’s Jared Watts earned All-ACC honors after being named to the All-ACC Freshmen team in 2010.

2011 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Team

First Team

Player Year Pos. School
Kyle Bekker Jr. M. Boston College
Charlie Rugg Jr. F Boston College
James Belshaw Jr. GK Duke
Andrew Wenger Jr. F Duke
John Stertzer Jr. M Maryland
Casey Townsend Sr. F Maryland
Scott Goodwin Jr. GK North Carolina
Matt Hedges Sr. D North Carolina
Enzo Martinez Jr. M North Carolina
Billy Schuler Jr. F North Carolina
Will Bates Jr. F Virginia
Jared Watts So. M Wake Forest

Second Team

Player Year Pos. School
Chris Ager So. D Boston College
Cody Mizell So. GK Clemson
Sebastien Ibeagha So. D Duke
Nick Palodichuk Fr. F Duke
Sunny Jane So. M Maryland
Taylor Kemp Jr. D Maryland
Patrick Mullins So. F Maryland
London Woodberry Jr. D Maryland
Kirk Urso Sr. M North Carolina
Brian Ownby Sr. M Virginia
Brian Span, So. M Virginia

Offensive Player of the Year – Andrew Wenger, Duke

Defensive Player of the Year – Matt Hedges, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year – Mikey Lopez, North Carolina

Coach of the Year – Carlos Somoano, North Carolina

2011 ACC All-Freshmen Men’s Soccer Team

Player Pos. School
Diego Medina-Mendez M Boston College
Brynjar Benediktsson F Clemson
Amadou Dia F Clemson
Andrew Morales M Duke
Nick Palodichuk F Duke
Mikey Lopez M North Carolina
Jordan McCrary D North Carolina
Boyd Okwuonu D North Carolina
Ryan Zinkhan F Virginia
Teddy Mullin M Wake Forest
Sean Okoli F Wake Forest