2012 All-ACC Men's Soccer Teams and Individual Awards Announced

Nov. 8, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Maryland junior Patrick Mullins and Duke junior Sebastien Ibeagha highlight the 2012 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Soccer Team, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Mullins was selected as the ACC Offensive Player of the Year and Ibeagha as the Defensive Player of the Year in a vote of the league’s nine head coaches who were not allowed to vote for their own players. North Carolina freshman Danny Garcia received Freshman of the Year honors, while Maryland’s Sasho Cirovski was voted Coach of the Year.

Mullins, a junior forward, leads the ACC with 32 points on 12 goals, including six game winners, and eight assists heading into the ACC Championship semifinal game versus Clemson. He bolsters the Maryland offense that leads the ACC and currently ranks second in the nation with 2.59 goals per game. Mullins is the second Maryland student-athlete to be named Offensive Player of the Year since the league split the player of the year award into offensive and defensive categories in 2004.

Ibeagha, a defender from Missouri City, Texas, found himself contributing on both ends of the field as he led the Duke defensive corps to nine shutouts and a 0.70 goals against average, while also scoring a team-leading five goals and two assists. He is the second Duke student-athlete in the last three seasons to earn Defensive Player of the Year honors.

North Carolina’s Garcia established himself as one of the nation’s top rookies in 2012. The midfielder from Dallas, Texas, started in 16 of 18 games and was second on the team with 14 points on four goals and six assists. Garcia owns two game-winning goals this season, including the lone strike in a 1-0 win over Duke on Tuesday to propel the Tar Heels into the semifinals of the ACC Championship.

Maryland’s Cirovski led the Terrapins to their 20th regular season title in 2012, and first since 2005. The Terrapins, who stand 15-1-2 overall, began the season with a 16-game unbeaten streak, which included 13 straight wins. Maryland was the consensus No. 1 team in the nation for seven weeks and ranked No. 1 in at least one national poll an additional week for eight straight weeks. It is Cirovski’s third ACC Coach of the Year award. He previously earned the honor in 2003 and 2004.

Boston College’s Charlie Rugg earned first-team honors for the third time of his career, while teammate Kyle Bekker was a repeat first team selection as was James Belshaw (Duke), John Stertzer (Maryland), Will Bates (Virginia) and Jared Watts (Wake Forest).

In addition, North Carolina’s Mikey Lopez and Boyd Okwuonu earned All-ACC honors after being named to the All-ACC Freshman team in 2011. The 2012 ACC Men’s Soccer Championship continues on Friday, Nov. 9 with a pair of semifinal matches. No. 2 seed North Carolina will play No. 6 seed Virginia in the first semifinal at 5:30 p.m., while No.1 seed Maryland and No. 4 seed Clemson will meet in the second semifinal at 8 p.m. Both matches will be streamed live on ESPN3. The complete 2012 All-ACC Men’s Soccer Team and All-Freshman Team are listed below.

All-ACC First Team
Kyle Bekker, Sr., M, Boston College
Charlie Rugg, Sr., F, Boston College
James Belshaw, GK, Sr., Duke
Sebastien Ibeagha, Jr., D, Duke
Patrick Mullins, Jr., F, Maryland
John Stertzer, Sr., M, Maryland
Mikey Lopez, So., M, North Carolina
Boyd Okwuonu, So., D, North Carolina
Alex Martinez, Jr., M, NC State
Will Bates, Sr., F, Virginia
Jared Watts, Jr., M, Wake Forest

All–ACC Second Team
Austin Savage, Sr., F, Clemson
Sean Davis, So., M, Duke
Mikey Ambrose, Fr., D, Maryland
Taylor Kemp, Sr., D, Maryland
Schillo Tshuma, Fr., F, Maryland
London Woodberry, Sr., D, Maryland
Andy Craven, Jr., F, North Carolina
Danny Garcia, Fr., M, North Carolina
Scott Goodwin, Sr. , GK, North Carolina
Sean Okoli, So., F, Wake Forest
Luca Gimenez, Jr., F, Wake Forest

All-ACC Freshman Team
Derrick Boateng, Fr., F, Boston College
Zach Mathers, Fr., D, Duke
Mikey Ambrose, Fr., D, Maryland
Schillo Tshuma, Fr., F, Maryland
Jonathan Campbell, Fr., D, North Carolina
Danny Garcia, Fr., M, North Carolina
Marcus Salandy-Defour, Fr., M, Virginia
Todd Wharton, Fr., M, Virginia
Darius Madison, Fr., F, Virginia
Michael Gamble, Fr., F, Wake Forest
Collin Martin, Fr., M, Wake Forest
Jalen Robinson, Fr., D, Wake Forest
*An extra member was named to the all-freshman team due to a tie in voting.

ACC Offensive Player of the Year - Patrick Mullins, Jr., F, Maryland
ACC Defensive Player of the Year - Sebastien Ibeagha, Jr., D, Duke
ACC Freshman of the Year - Danny Garcia, Fr., M, North Carolina
ACC Coach of the Year - Sasho Cirovski, Maryland