ACC Places Four on 2011 Men's MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug. 16, 2011

Four Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes are among the 41 on the Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy Watch List for the 2011 men’s soccer season.

Representing the conference are Duke goalkeeper James Belshaw and defender Andrew Wenger (the 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year); Maryland forward Casey Townsend, and North Carolina midfielder Enzo Martinez.

Monmouth University is the most-represented team on list with three seniors -- RJ Allen, Anthony Vasquez and Max Hamilton.

Five other schools each placed two players on the list: Connecticut, Creighton, Duke, Fordham and SMU. The University of Louisville, the No. 1 team in the NSCAA/Continental Tire Pre-Season Rankings, had one player on the list, senior defender Austin Berry. Of the 42 players, five were semifinalists for the award in 2010: Tony Cascio (Connecticut), Ethan Finlay (Creighton), Antoine Hoppenot (Princeton), Arthur Ivo (SMU) and Duke’s Wenger.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. The recipients are selected by head coaches of NCAA Division I programs who are members of the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

A total of 34 different schools and seven countries are represented on the list, including players from the United States, Australia, Brazil, England, Ghana, New Zealand and Sweden.

Voting for the MAC Hermann Trophy is conducted in late November, when a field of 15 semifinalists is reduced to three finalists. Those three will be invited to the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 6, 2012, where a news conference will be held to announce the winner, followed by a banquet to honor the three finalists.

Pos. Name School
D RJ Allen Monmouth
M Carlos Alvarez Connecticut
M Gideon Asante Old Dominion
K James Belshaw Duke
D Austin Berry Louisville
D Thomas Brandt Pennsylvania
M Andrew Bulls UMBC
F Brendan Burgdorf Bucknell
M Michael Bustamante Boston University
M Cody Calafiore Temple
F Tony Cascio Connecticut
F Juan Castillo SMU
D Marcello Castro Sacred Heart
D Justin Chavez Tulsa
M Warren Creavalle Central Florida
D Roger Downes Loyola Marymount
F Ethan Finlay Creighton
D Shaun Foster Hofsta
D Raymon Gaddis West Virginia
F Sam Garza UC Santa Barbara
F Bryan Gaul Bradley
M Max Hamilton Monmouth
F Antoine Hoppenot Princeton
M Arthur Ivo SMU
K Matt Lampson Ohio State
M Enzo Martinez North Carolina
M Ryan Meara Fordham
F Karo Okiomah High Point
D Tyler Polak Creighton
M Josey Portillo Florida Gulf Coast
M Tim Richardson Fordham
D Charles Rodriguez Charlotte
M Kelyn Rowe UCLA
D Kevin Strunk Lehigh
F Chris Thomas Elon
F Casey Townsend Maryland
D Anthony Vasquez Monmouth
F Patrick Wallen San Diego
D Andrew Wenger Duke
F Chris Wheeler Mount St. Mary's
F Gyasi Zardes CSU-Bakerfield