2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Soccer Team Announced

Feb. 25, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Eight Atlantic Coast Conference 2010 All-ACC representatives, including two individual honorees, secured spots on this year's All-ACC Academic Men's Soccer Team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Kirk Urso, a junior midfielder from North Carolina, headlines the 30-member academic squad as the economics major was named the 2010 Men's Soccer Scholar Athlete of the Year. Urso started 23 of the Tar Heels' 24 games in 2010 as UNC advanced to the 2010 NCAA Men's Soccer College Cup Semifinals. The Lombard, Ill. native was second on the team in scoring with 15 points. He scored five goals and was tied for the team lead in assists with five. Urso has played an integral part in taking his team to the College Cup all three years of his collegiate career.

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. Maryland's Stephen King was named as the first ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for men's soccer.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during his academic career.

Joining Urso on the 2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Soccer team was the 2010 Defensive Player of the Year and Duke sophomore Andrew Wenger and 2010 Freshman of the Year and Maryland midfielder Patrick Mullins. Also joining the 2010 All-ACC second team honoree, as All-ACC representatives on this year's All-ACC Academic squad are first-teamers Wenger (Duke) and Maryland's Jason Herrick, Matt Kassel and Casey Townsend, and All-ACC second team members James Belshaw (Duke) and Wake Forest's Andy Lubahn and Akira Fitzgerald.

All nine of the league's men's soccer programs were represented on this year's All-ACC Academic team, while Duke matched its men's soccer All-ACC Academic team record-high eight selections from 2006 and 2009, leading all schools on this year's academic team. Maryland and NC State tabbed five selections each on the 2010 squad, while North Carolina added four representatives.

Also highlighting the talent on this year's all-league academic team were three 2010 All-Freshman honorees Chris Ager (Boston College), Jonathan Aguirre (Duke) and Mullins.

2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Soccer Team

Name, Class, School Major
Chris Ager, Fr., Boston College Undeclared
George Godwin, Jr., Clemson Health Science
Alexander Stockinger, Fr., Clemson Economics,/td>
Jonathan Aguirre, Fr., DukeUndeclared
James Belshaw, So., Duke Undeclared
Rob Dolot, Fr., Duke Undeclared
Temi Molinar, Jr., Duke Biology
Nick Sih, Sr., Duke International Comparative Studies
Matt Thomas, Gr., Duke Sociology/Masters of Management Studies
Chris Tweed-Kent, Jr., Duke Mechanical Engineering
Andrew Wenger, So., Duke Undeclared
Jason Herrick, Sr., Maryland Accounting
Matthew Kassel, Jr., Maryland General Business
Patrick Mullins, Fr., Maryland American Studies
Douglas Rodkey, Sr., Maryland Grad: Public Policy
Casey Townsend, Jr., Maryland Criminology/Criminal Justice
Scott Goodwin, So., North Carolina Biology
Martin Murphy, So., North Carolina Undecided
Josh Rice, So., North Carolina Computer Science
Kirk Urso, Jr., North Carolina Economics
Will Mackvick, Jr., NC State Business Administration
Michael Smith, So., NC State Business Administration
Zane Tharakan, Jr., NC State Business Administration
Watt Williams, Jr., NC State Business Administration
Chris Zuerner, Sr., NC State Business Administration
Hunter Jumper, Jr., Virginia Psychology
Koen Oost, Sr., Virginia Tech Biology
Akira Fitzgerald, Sr., Wake Forest Communication
Andy Lubahn, So., Wake Forest Undeclared
Ben Newnam, So, Wake Forest Business & Enterprise Management