2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

July 6, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Max Quinzani of Duke leads the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Quinzani, a senior history major, is a four-time All-ACC Academic team selection. He helped lead Duke to its first NCAA championship in men's lacrosse with a 6-5 win over Notre Dame. In 2010, Quinzani tallied a school-record 68 goals, which also ranked as the eighth-most in NCAA lacrosse history. A three-time USILA All-America pick and three-time ESPN The Magazine Academic All-American, he was named a second-team All-American in 2010 and earned a spot on the NCAA All-Tournament team. Quinzani is the first Blue Devil lacrosse player in program history to earn first-team Academic All-America recognition.

The Duxbury, Mass., native finished his career as the second-leading scorer in NCAA history with 199 career goals. Quinzani, who scored the game-winning goal with 12 seconds left in Duke’s NCAA semifinal win over Virginia, also set a NCAA record by registering a point in 66 consecutive games. In 78 career games, he scored 199 goals with 37 assists and was a three-time selection as first team All-Atlantic Coast Conference. Quinzani was selected as the No. 3 pick by the Boston Cannons in the 2010 Major League Lacrosse Draft.

Seven men’s lacrosse student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season secured spots on the 28-member All-ACC Academic squad, while 12 selections were repeat honorees from last year’s All-ACC Academic team. Joining Quinzani as student-athletes who earned both All-Academic and All-Conference honors in 2010 are Duke’s Parker McKee, Maryland’s Grant Catalino, Brian Phipps and Brett Schmidt, North Carolina’s Ryan Flanagan and Virginia’s Ken Clausen.

Duke placed at least 12 student-athletes on the team for the fourth consecutive year as the Blue Devils registered a school-high 15 honorees, which tied their 2007 and 2008 All-ACC Academic team counts. North Carolina followed with seven honorees, while Maryland and Virginia had five and two recognized, respectively.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

Name, Class, Major, School
Michael Catalino, Grad., Global Health, Duke *
CJ Costabile, So., History, Duke
Stephen Coyle, Jr., History, Duke
James Goldberg, Sr., Cultural Anthropology, Duke
Jon Livadas, Grad., Management Studies, Duke
Parker McKee, Sr., History, Duke &
Terrence Molinari, Sr., Political Science, Duke !
Tom Montelli, Jr., History, Duke
Sam Payton, Grad., Business Admin., Duke &
Max Quinzani, Sr., History, Duke &
Rob Rotanz, So., History, Duke
Stephen Schoeffel, Sr., English, Duke &
Dan Theodoridis, Grad., Management Studies, Duke
Justin Turri, Jr., Economics, Duke !
Dan Wigrizer, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Grant Catalino, Jr., Finance, Maryland !
Brian Phipps, Sr., History, Maryland &
Owen Blyd, R-Fr., Undeclared, Maryland
Brett Schmidt, Jr., Finance, Maryland !
Ryan Flanagan, Jr., Business Admin., North Carolina #
Chris Hunt, Jr., Business Admin., North Carolina !
Sean Jackson, Sr., Journalism & Mass Comm., North Carolina
Mike Jarvis, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina !
Tyler Morton, So., Business Admin., North Carolina !
Jeff Muscatello, So., Business Admin., North Carolina
Mark Staines, So., Journalism & Mass Comm., North Carolina !
Ken Clausen, Sr., History, Virginia
Adam Ghitelman, Jr., Psychology, Virginia !

* Five-time honoree; & Four-time honoree; # Three-time honoree; ! Two-time honoree