2012 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

June 27, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Duke’s CJ Costabile has been recognized as the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by the conference office. Costabile highlights the 2012 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team.

A senior majoring in history, Costabile garnered accolades in 2012 as a Tewaaraton Award finalist, the winner of the Lt. j.g. Donald MacLaughlin Jr. Award as the nation’s top midfielder, USILA Scholar All-American and All-America First Team member, and as the winner of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. The native of New Fairfield, Conn., was named as the ACC Co-Defensive Player of the Year and voted to the All-ACC Team and the ACC All-Tournament Team. This is his third career All-ACC Academic honor.

Four men’s lacrosse student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season secured spots on the All-ACC Academic squad, while 13 selections are repeat All-ACC Academic team honorees. Joining Costabile as student-athletes who earned both All-ACC Academic Team recognition and All-Conference honors in 2012 are Duke’s Rob Rotanz and Jordan Wolf, and Maryland’s Jesse Bernhardt.

Duke’s Justin Turri was named to the All-ACC Academic Team for the fourth time in his career, while Costabile, Rotanz, and Stephen Coyle earned their third honor.

Duke has placed at least 12 student-athletes on the team for the sixth consecutive year as the Blue Devils registered a league-high 14 honorees, one shy of their program-high (15). North Carolina and Maryland followed with five honorees, while Virginia had one.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

2012 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team
Ben Belmont @ Duke Sr. History
Bill Conners Duke Jr. History
CJ Costabile # Duke Sr. History
Stephen Coyle # Duke GS Management Studies
Will Haus Duke Fr. Undeclared
Josh Offit @ Duke Jr. History
Jimmy O'Neill @ Duke Jr. History
Tommy Patterson Duke Jr. Economics
Rob Rotanz # Duke Sr. History
Tanner Scott Duke Fr. Undeclared
Justin Turri % Duke GS Management Studies
Christian Walsh @ Duke So. History
Dan Wigrizer @ Duke Jr. History
Jordan Wolf @ Duke So. History
Jesse Bernhardt Maryland Jr. Criminology & Criminal Justice
Owen Blye @ Maryland Jr. Operations Management
Landon Carr Maryland Jr. Kinesiological Sciences
Michael Chanenchuk Maryland Jr. American Studies
Billy Gribbin Maryland Jr. Communication
Jacob Bailey North Carolina Fr. Undecided
Ryan Creighton North Carolina So. Economics
Frankie Kelly @ North Carolina So. Business Administration
Kieren McDonald @ North Carolina Jr. Business Administration
Joey Sankey North Carolina Fr. Undecided
Owen Van Arsdale Virginia So. Undeclared
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree