2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

June 22, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Brett Schmidt of Maryland leads the 2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Schmidt, a native of Dublin, Pa., earned United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America honors, LaxPower All-America team recognition and was a member of both the 2011 NCAA All-Tournament and ACC All-Tournament team. The senior led the 2011 Terrapins with 22 caused turnovers and led all defenders with 50 groundballs. In addition, he helped lead a Terrapin defense that finished the season ranked fourth in the nation in scoring defense.

Four men’s lacrosse student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season secured spots on the 30-member All-ACC Academic squad, while 11 selections are repeat All-ACC Academic team honorees. Joining Schmidt as student-athletes who earned both All-ACC Academic team recognition and All-Conference honors in 2011 are Duke’s CJ Costabile and Jordan Wolf and North Carolina’s Ryan Flanagan.

Duke placed at least 12 student-athletes on the team for the fifth-consecutive year as the Blue Devils registered a league-high 14 honorees, one shy of their program-high (15) earned during the 2007, 2008 and 2010 All-ACC Academic team counts. North Carolina followed with eight honorees, while Maryland and Virginia had five and three recognized, respectively.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

The 2011 All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse team is as follows:

Name, Class, Major, School
Ben Belmont, Sr., History, Duke
CJ Costabile, Jr., History, Duke !
Stephen Coyle, Sr., History, Duke !
Josh Dionne, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Jesse Fehr, Grad., Management Studies, Duke
Chris Hipps, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Zach Howell, Sr., History, Duke #
Jimmy O’Neill, So., History, Duke
Josh Offit, So., History, Duke
Charlie Payton, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Rob Rotanz, Jr., History, Duke !
Justin Turri, Sr., Economics, Duke #
Christian Walsh, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Jordan Wolf, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Owen Blye, R-So., Agriculture & Resource Eco., Maryland
Dan Burns, Sr., Communication, Maryland
Grant Catalino, Sr., Finance, Maryland #
Brian Farrell, Sr., Communication, Maryland
Brett Schmidt, Sr., Finance, Maryland #
Michael Burns, Sr., History, North Carolina &
Ryan Flanagan, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina &
Chris Hunt, Sr., Business Admin, North Carolina #
Frankie Kelly, Fr., Business Admin., North Carolina
Chris Madalon, Sr., Management & Society, North Carolina
Kieran McDonald, So., Business Admin., North Carolina
Kevin Piegare, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina
Mark Staines, Jr., Journalism & Mass Comm., North Carolina #
Rob Emery, Fr., Undeclared, Virginia
Patrick Harbeson, Fr., Undeclared, Virginia
Brian McDermott, Sr., History, Virginia

* Five-time honoree; & Four-time honoree; # Three-time honoree; ! Two-time honoree