ACC Programs Place 24 on All-America Teams

May 23, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Twenty-four ACC men’s lacrosse student-athletes have earned All-America honors, as announced Thursday by the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). Duke’s Brendan Fowler and David Lawson, Maryland’s Jesse Bernhardt and John Haus, and North Carolina’s Marcus Holman were tabbed for the first team.

The 24 honorees is the most of any conference in the nation, ahead of the ECAC’s 18, the Ivy’s 13, and the Big East’s 11. Duke and Maryland tied with Loyola for the most of any individual program in the country with seven apiece, while North Carolina and Virginia tied with Johns Hopkins for fifth most for a program with five each.

Seventeen players from league teams were selected for the first, second, and third teams, tying the ACC record previously set in 2010.

One of the nation’s top faceoff specialists, Fowler has excelled at the draw for the Blue Devils this season. He currently ranks third in faceoff percentage (.649) and is second in ground balls per game (9.63). Voted the ACC Defensive Player of the year, Fowler has won at least 10 draws in 18 of his 20 outings and is one of four Division I players to win 20-plus restarts in at least three games in 2013. He has collected a Duke single-season record 183 ground balls, while his 303 faceoff victories are just 12 shy of tying the NCAA single-season mark. His 183 ground balls are just 12 shy of taking over the No. 2 spot on the NCAA chart.

Lawson, Duke’s top scoring midfielder, is third on the team in scoring with 32 goals and 15 assists for 47 points An All-ACC selection this season, Lawson is coming off of a career-best five-goal outing against Notre Dame in the NCAA quarterfinals. His 32 goals are a career-best, while the 47 points are just five shy of his total from the 2011 and 2012 seasons combined. He has scored at least one goal in 18 of his 20 outings this season and had at least two goals in eight of those. Overall in the NCAA Tournament this season, the Westford, Mass., native has nine points with six goals and three assists. He became just the fifth player in Duke history to score at least five goals in a NCAA Tournament game when he had five against the Irish.

Bernhardt, a native of Longwood, Fla., earns his second All-America selection to add to a lengthy list of honors he accumulated during his career. He led the team with 25 caused turnovers and was second on the squad with 59 groundballs. Bernhardt, who was also a Tewaaraton Trophy nominee this season, also added four goals and three assists for seven points. Bernhardt is the first Terrapin to be named a first team All-American and a Scholar All-American by the USILA in the same season.

Haus, a native of Lutherville, Md., earns his third All-America honor after proving once again to be one of the top all-around midfielders in the nation. He finished the season fourth on the team with 28 points on 18 goals and 10 assists.

Holman, who was honorable mention in 2011 and second team last year, is a finalist for the 2013 Tewaaraton Trophy.  He led UNC with 80 points in 2013, just one shy of the school record.  His 43 assists were the third most in a single season.  He finished his career as Carolina’s all-time leading point producer while ranking second in goals and third in assists.  He was the 2013 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and All-ACC as well.


ACC on the 2013 USILA All-America Teams

First Team

Marcus Holman, North Carolina, Attack

Brendan Fowler, Duke, Face-Off

Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland, LP Midfield

John Haus, Maryland, Midfield

David Lawson, Duke, Midfield

Second Team

Jordan Wolf, Duke, Attack

Michael Ehrhardt, Maryland, Defense

Scott McWilliams, Virginia, Defense

Niko Amato, Maryland, Goalie

Michael Chanenchuk, Maryland, Midfield

Chad Tutton, North Carolina, Midfield

Matt White, Virginia, Midfield

Third Team

Mark Cockerton, Virginia, Attack

Joey Sankey, North Carolina, Attack

Goran Murray, Maryland, Defense

Rob Emery, Virginia, Midfield

Josh Offit, Duke, Midfield

Honorable Mention

Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina, Attack

Josh Dionne, Duke, Attack

Nick O'Reilly, Virginia, Attack

Landon Carr, Maryland, Midfield

Ryan Creighton, North Carolina, Midfield

Will Haus, Duke, Midfield

Jake Tripucka, Duke, Midfield