ACC Teams Earn NCAA Men's Lacrosse Championship Bids

May 9, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - All four Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse programs were among the 16 selected to compete in the 2010 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday evening. Virginia, Maryland, North Carolina and Duke will all compete for the national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 15 & 16.

Top-seeded Virginia (14-1) will welcome Mt. Saint Mary’s (12-4) to Klöckner Stadium on Saturday, May 15 at 7:30 p.m. The NCAA selection marks the second-straight season and fourth overall that the Cavaliers have been named the top seed in the Tournament. Virginia, the ACC Tournament champions and the top-ranked team in both the Nike/Inside Lacrosse media and USILA coaches polls, will be making its 33rd tournament appearance overall, tying for second all-time with Maryland and behind only Johns Hopkins (39).

Maryland (11-3) will compete in its eighth-straight NCAA Tournament, receiving a No. 3 seed and will face-off against Hofstra (9-4) on Saturday, May 15, at noon at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium. Maryland will also be making its 33rd appearance in the NCAA Tournament and hold an all-time record of 12-6 as a No. 3 seed.

North Carolina (12-2) earned a No. 4 seed in the 2010 Championship for the second time in three years and will play host to Colonial Athletic Association champion Delaware (10-6) at Fetzer Field on Sunday, May 16 at 5 p.m.

Duke (12-4) was given a No. 5 seed for the upcoming NCAA Tournament and will host Johns Hopkins (7-7) at Koskinen Stadium on Saturday, May 15 at noon. The fifth-ranked Blue Devils will be making their 14th appearance in the postseason tournament where the squad owns an all-time tournament record of 16-13.

All first-round games will be televised live on ESPNU.

The semifinal and championship games will be held at M & T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Maryland, May 29-31. The semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 starting at 4 p.m. ET, May 29. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN starting at 3:30 p.m., May 31.

The championship hosts are Johns Hopkins University, Loyola Maryland, University of Maryland, Baltimore County and Towson University. This is one of only two NCAA team championships, along with women's rowing, that holds the championships of all three divisions at a common site. The 2011 championship will once again be held in Baltimore.

For ticket information for all games at M & T Bank Stadium, May 29-31, call 410/261-7283. For additional information on the lacrosse championship please visit