#ACCMLax Teams Earn #NCAAMLax Championship Bids

May 8, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - All four Atlantic Coast Conference men's lacrosse programs were among the 16 selected to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday evening. Duke, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia will all compete for the national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 14 & 15.

Duke (12-5) was selected as the No. 5 seed for the upcoming NCAA Tournament and will host Delaware (12-6) at Koskinen Stadium on Saturday, May 14 at 5 p.m. The Blue Devils will be making their fifth-consecutive and 15th overall appearance in the postseason tournament where the squad owns an all-time NCAA record of 20-13. Duke, which returns as the reigning national champion - the squad's first men's lacrosse national title, enters the 2011 postseason having won 14 of its last 18 NCAA Tournament games.

Virginia (9-5) earned the No. 7 seed and will welcome Bucknell (14-2) to Klöckner Stadium on Sunday, May 15 at 3 p.m. The Cavaliers will be making their seventh-straight tournament appearance and 34th overall, tying for second all-time with Maryland and behind only Johns Hopkins (40). Virginia holds an all-time NCAA Tournament record of 43-29 and own four crowns, the last came in 2006 against Massachusetts.

North Carolina (10-5) earned the No. 8 seed in the 2011 NCAA Championship and will play host to ACC foe and league tournament champ Maryland (10-4) at Fetzer Field on Sunday, May 15 at 1 p.m. The Tar Heels will be making their fifth-straight appearance and 26th overall NCAA Tournament showing. North Carolina owns four NCAA titles with all four coming between 1981 and 1991.

Maryland (10-4), which will compete in its ninth-straight NCAA Tournament, received one of eight at-large bids announced on Sunday evening. The Terrapins will be making their 34th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and hold an all-time record of 42-31 in the postseason event. Maryland looks for its third national crown and first since 1975, when the program won its second in three years.

All 2011 NCAA Tournament first-round games will be televised live on ESPNU May 14 and 15.

The Division I semifinal and championship games will be held at M & T Bank Stadium in Baltimore, Maryland, May 28-30. The Division I semifinals will be televised live on ESPN2 HD starting at 4 p.m., May 28. The championship game will be televised live on ESPN HD starting at 3:30 p.m., May 30.

The championship hosts are Johns Hopkins University, Loyola Maryland, University of Maryland, Baltimore County and Towson University. This is one of only two NCAA team championships, along with women's rowing, that holds the championships of all three divisions at a common site. The 2012 championships will be held in Boston, Massachusetts.

For ticket information for all games at M & T Bank Stadium, call 410-261-7283.