Three ACC Teams Earn Bids to #NCAAMLax Championship

May 5, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Three Atlantic Coast Conference men's lacrosse programs were among the 16 selected to compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship, as announced Sunday evening. It marks the seventh consecutive season in which at least three of the league's teams have earned a bid.

North Carolina (12-3), the 2013 ACC Champion, was selected as the No. 5 seed and will host Lehigh (12-4) in Chapel Hill at 12 p.m. on ESPN2 on May 11. The Tar Heels will be making their seventh consecutive appearance in the tournament and 28th in program history. North Carolina is 27-23 in tournament play and has four national titles.

Maryland (10-3), the No. 6 seed, will be making its 11th consecutive and 36th overall appearance in the tournament where it has a 48-33 record. The Terrapins will face Cornell (12-3) in the first round on May 12 at 1 p.m. on ESPN2. Maryland, which has won two national championships, has reached the national championship game the past two years and has 21 appearances in the national semifinals.

Duke (12-5), which has reached the national semifinals in each of the past six years, earned the No. 7 seed and will host Loyola Maryland (11-4) on Sunday, May 12, at 5:15 p.m. on ESPNU. The Blue Devils will be making their 17th appearance in the tournament, where they are 24-15 all-time and have one national championship.

ACC squads finished the season with a 32-10 mark against nonconference opponents and had seven wins against teams ranked in the Inside Lacrosse media poll. The four teams that make up the league have combined to win 12 national championships and have a combined 63 appearances in the national semifinals.

The tournament gets underway May 11-12 at campus sites. The quarterfinals, played a week later on May 18-19, will be held in College Park, Md., and Indianapolis, Ind. Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia, Pa., will host the semifinals on May 25 and the championship on May 27.

The first round, quarterfinals, and semifinals will be broadcast on either ESPN2 or ESPNU. ESPN will carry the national championship game at 1 p.m. on May 27.