Five ACC Student-Athletes Named as Tewaaraton Award Nominees

April 25, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Five Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse student-athletes were named 2012 Tewaaraton Award nominees, as announced today by the Tewaaraton Foundation. Of the 25 men that were selected as nominees, five finalists will be named and honored on May 31, 2012, at the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C.

First presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States.

The ACC’s five nominees are the most of any conference in the country. The four schools that make up the league have won five of the eleven Tewaaraton Awards in the history of the trophy, including the last two.

Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and US Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Iroquois descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit

Below are this year’s ACC representatives on the 2012 Tewaaraton Award candidate list.

ACC 2012 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Jesse Bernhardt, Long Stick Midfield - University of Maryland
Colin Briggs, Midfield - University of Virginia
CJ Costabile, Long Stick Midfield - Duke University
Marcus Holman, Attack/Midfield - University of North Carolina
Steele Stanwick, Attack - University of Virginia