Eleven ACC Student-Athletes Named to Men's Lacrosse Tewaaraton Candidate List

April 15, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C. – Eleven Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse student-athletes were named to the 2010 Tewaaraton candidate list, as announced by the Greater Washington Sports Alliance on Wednesday. Of the 26 men’s nominees, only five will be named finalists, in which only one will walk away with the sport’s top honor.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the preeminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top collegiate lacrosse player for his extraordinary achievements on the field. All Tewaaraton nominees are screened and selected by a committee, which is comprised of collegiate coaches.

In addition, 2010 will host the 10th annual awards ceremony and is considered the “Year of the Seneca.”

The ACC is the only conference in the nation to boast double-digit candidates on this year’s finalists list. In fact, the ACC owns at least seven more candidates than any other conference, including the Big East, which earned four selections on the annual list, all of which were Syracuse student-athletes.

All four of the ACC’s men’s lacrosse programs are represented on the 2010 Tewaaraton candidate list, including Virginia, which had four honorees, tying the ‘Cuse for the most of any school in the country. The Cavaliers are currently 11-0 on the season, the only unblemished program in the nation, and will put their flawless mark to the test in front of an ESPNU audience on Saturday, April 17, when they face Duke at 8:30 p.m., in both school’s final regular-season game.

The Blue Devils picked up three 2010 candidates, while Maryland and North Carolina both had two, respectively.

Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora.

The award will be presented on June 3rd, 2010 at the Smithsonian National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. For additional information on the award or to purchase tickets please visit: www.tewaaratonaward.org.

Below are this year’s ACC representatives on the 2010 Tewaaraton Award candidate list.

ACC 2010 Tewaaraton Award Nominees
Billy Bitter, University of North Carolina – Junior (Attack), Stowe, VT
Shamel Bratton, University of Virginia – Junior (Midfield), Huntington Station, N.Y.
Brian Carroll, University of Virginia – Senior (Midfield), Towson, MD
Grant Catolino, University of Maryland – Junior (Attack), Webster, NY
Ken Clausen, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Downington, PA
Ned Crotty, Duke University – Senior (Attack), New Vernon, N.J.
Brian Farrell, University of Maryland – Junior (Midfield), Baltimore, MD
Ryan Flanagan, University of North Carolina – Junior (Defense), West Islip, N.Y.
Parker McKee, Duke University – Senior (Defense), Old Greenwich, CT
Max Quinzani, Duke University – Senior (Attack), Duxbury, MA
Steele Stanwick, University of Virginia – Sophomore (Attack), Baltimore, MD