Thirteen ACC Men Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List

Feb. 22, 2013

WASHINGTON  – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award men’s watch list with 13 ACC student-athletes recognized. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.

ACC student-athletes have won five times in the 12 year history of the award. Past winners include Virginia’s Chris Rotelli in 2003, Virginia’s Matt Ward in 2006, Duke’s Matt Danowski in 2007, Duke’s Ned Crotty in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick in 2011.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men’s watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men’s and women’s nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Men’s Watch List
Niko Amato, Maryland - Jr., G
Jesse Bernhardt, Maryland - Sr., LSM
Jimmy Bitter, North Carolina - Soph., A
Josh Dionne, Duke - Jr., A
Rob Emery, Virginia - Jr., M
John Haus, Maryland - Sr., M
Marcus Holman, North Carolina - Sr., A
RG Keenan, North Carolina - Jr., FO
Chris LaPierre, Virginia - Sr., M
Scott McWilliams, Virginia - Jr., D
Christian Walsh, Duke - Jr., A
Matt White, Virginia - Sr., M
Jordan Wolf, Duke - Jr., A