Eight ACC Student-Athletes Named to Men's Lacrosse Tewaaraton Watch List

Feb. 15, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Eight Atlantic Coast Conference men’s lacrosse student-athletes were named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Award Watch List. The list includes the top players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2012 Tewaaraton Award.

ACC players have won two consecutive Tewaaraton Awards and five of the 11 since its inception. Duke’s Ned Crotty took home the honor in 2010, and Virginia’s Steele Stanwick won it last year. Stanwick, a senior attacker from Baltimore, Md., was the second overall pick in the 2012 Major League Lacrosse draft and is on the Tewaaraton Watch List again this year.

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 and is the preeminent lacrosse award honoring the nation's top collegiate lacrosse player for his extraordinary achievements on the field. The Selection Committee are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed each year by the Tewaaraton Award.

The Selection Committee will make additions to the list as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. In late April, the list will be narrowed to 25 and these men will earn the distinction of Tewaaraton Nominees. In mid-May, the five finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31st, at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington DC.

ACC Student-Athletes on the 2012 Tewaaraton Award Watch List

CJ Costabile Duke Senior Long Stick Midfield New Fairfield, Conn.
Justin Turri Duke r-Senior Midfield West Islip, N.Y.
Curtis Holmes Maryland Junior Midfield Marriotsville, Md.
Nick Galasso North Carolina Sophomore Attack West Islip, N.Y.
Jack McBride North Carolina Senior Attack/Midfield Madison, N.J.
Colin Briggs Virginia r-Senior Midfield Narragansett, R.I.
Chris LaPierre Virginia Junior Midfield Medford, N.J.
Steele Stanwick Virginia Senior Attack Baltimore, Md.