ESPN Selects 19 ACC Men's Lacrosse Games

Jan. 23, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – ESPN has announced its coverage of the 2012 ACC Men’s Lacrosse season, and a record 19 games – including all nine conference matchups – will be broadcast on ESPN platforms.

The 2011 ESPN schedule opens on Feb. 25 with Stony Brook visiting Virginia. The slate is highlighted by ten nonconference games, including eight against 2011 NCAA Tournament participants.

Conference play begins on March 3, with Duke taking on Maryland in a national semifinal rematch from a year ago. Virginia and Maryland, who played in the national title game last year, face off on March 31 on ESPNU.

The 19-game schedule breaks the previous mark of 16 set last year. The entirety of the ACC Men’s Lacrosse Championship, held in Charlottesville, Va., on April 20-22, will be on national television for the first time in conference history.

In addition to the events announced on Monday, other games may be carried by the ACC Digital Network and by the regional cable partners of various ACC institutions. A complete listing of those games will be announced at a later date.

The 2012 season gets started on Saturday, Feb. 11, with Duke and North Carolina in action. ACC teams have won two straight national titles and four of the last nine.

Date Time Game Channel
Saturday, February 25 12:00 PM Stony Brook at Virginia ESPN3
Saturday, March 3 1:00 PM Duke at Maryland ESPN3
Sunday, March 4 4:30 PM Syracuse at Virginia ESPN
Saturday, March 10 11:00 AM North Carolina vs. Princeton ESPNU
Saturday, March 10 1:30 PM Virginia vs. Cornell ESPNU
Friday, March 16 5:00 PM North Carolina at Duke ESPNU
Saturday, March 24 12:00 PM Maryland at North Carolina ESPNU
Saturday, March 24 2:00 PM John Hopkins at Virginia ESPNU
Saturday, March 31 12:00 PM Virginia at Maryland ESPNU
Sunday, April 1 4:00 PM Duke vs. Syracuse ESPNU
Sunday, April 1 6:30 PM North Carolina vs. John Hopkins ESPNU
Saturday, April 7 12:00 PM Virginia at North Carolina ESPN
Friday, April 13 6:00 PM Duke at Virginia ESPNU
Saturday, April 14 TBD North Carolina vs. Hofstra ESPNU
Friday, April 20 5:00 PM ACC Semifinal #1 ESPNU
Friday, April 20 7:30 PM ACC Semifinal #2 ESPNU
Sunday, April 22 3:00 PM ACC Championship ESPNU
Friday, April 27 7:30 p.m. Virginia vs. Penn ESPN3
Friday, April 27 10:00 p.m. Duke vs. Penn ESPNU