Eleven ACC Student-Athletes Selected in the MLL Draft

Jan. 12, 2013

(theACC.com) Virginia’s Chris LaPierre and Maryland’s Jesse Bernhardt were selected in first round of the 2012 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft in Philadelphia, Pa., on Friday. In total, 11 ACC players were selected in the eight-round, 64-pick draft.

Drafted by the Hamilton Nationals, LaPierre is the second straight Cavalier to be selected with the second overall pick after Steele Stanwick went in that position in 2012. Bernhardt was chosen by Chesapeake with the fourth pick, becoming the second-highest Terrapin to be drafted in the MLL.

All four ACC schools were represented in the draft. Maryland led with five players selected, followed by Duke with three, Virginia with two, and North Carolina with one player taken. The five Terrapins tied for the national lead and equaled a program record set in 2011.

Rd. No. Team Player Pos. College
1 2 Hamilton Chris LaPierre M Virginia
1 4 Chesapeake Jesse Bernhardt D Maryland
2 12 Ohio Marcus Holman A North Carolina
2 15 Hamilton John Haus M Maryland
2 16 Chesapeake Kevin Cooper M Maryland
3 18 Hamilton Casey Carroll D Duke
3 23 Denver Landon Carr M Maryland
3 24 Charlotte Owen Blye A Maryland
4 28 Charlotte Matt White A Virginia
5 40 Rochester David Lawson M Duke
6 42 Hamilton Jake Tripucka M Duke