NCAA CHAMPIONS: Duke Wins 2013 NCAA Title

May 27, 2013

Duke Beats Syracuse, 16-10, Wins National Title

PHILADELPHIA – Duke University junior faceoff specialist Brendan Fowler won 20-of-28 faceoffs and junior Jordan Wolf scored four goals to lead the Blue Devils to the 2013 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championship with a 16-10 victory over top-seeded Syracuse. The national championship is the second for the Blue Devils and the second for head coach John Danowski.

Fowler garnered the Most Outstanding Player award, while David Lawson and Jake Tripucka joined the Wantagh, N.Y., native on the all-tournament team. The national championship is the 13th for Duke University and the second lacrosse title in four seasons. Wolf led all scorers in the game with four goals and two assists, while Josh Offit and Josh Dionne had three apiece. Offit posted five points overall and Tripucka had four (2g, 2a).

The Orange ended its 22:19 scoreless drought ended at the 4:28 mark of the third to go back up 7-6, but Duke responded with seven unanswered for the 13-7 lead with 10:47 to play in the game. The first six of those goals came in a span of 5:17 from the sticks of four different players. Tripucka capped off the run with an unassisted score at the 10:47 mark.

Kyle Turri finished with 10 saves to become just the fifth goalie in Duke history to register 10-plus saves in three NCAA Tournament contests. Dylan Donahue led all Syracuse scorers with four points, while Marasco finished with three (2g, 1a). Dom Lamolinara made 11 saves for the Orange in 60 minutes of action.