2010 Wyndham Championship Features 29 Alumni of ACC Schools

Aug. 19, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Twenty-nine golfers with Atlantic Coast Conference ties are among the field at the 2010 Wyndham Championship under way at Sedgefield Country Club.

The Greensboro stop of the PGA TOUR features seven former Clemson players, a Tiger record for the most former players in any single PGA TOUR event.

The list includes 2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover (Clemson); former Wake Forest All-American Brendan Gielow, who was a 2010 honorary recipient of the ACC's Weaver-James-Corrigan Award and is making his PGA TOUR debut after receiving a sponsor's exemption; Matt Hill (NC State), the 2008-09 ACC Male Athlete of the Year; and 2007 British Amateur champion Drew Weaver of High Point, N.C. who is staging his own pink-out on Friday in support the fight against breast cancer.

Four former alumni from Georgia Tech and NC State are among the Wyndham Championship field, which also includes three alumni from North Carolina and Wake Forest, two apiece from Duke, Virginia and Virginia Tech and one each from Florida State and Miami.

The ACC has an even stronger tie to Sedgefield - the conference was founded there on May 8, 1953, and has made its headquarters in Greensboro throughout its 57-plus years of existence. The ACC's current office is only a few miles from the course.

Below is the complete list of ACC alumni competing in the 2010 Wyndham Championship.

(Listed alphabetically by ACC Institution)
Jonathan Byrd, Clemson
Brent Delahoussaye, Clemson
Brian Duncan, Clemson
Lucas Glover, Clemson
Kevin Johnson, Clemson
D.J. Trahan, Clemson
Charles Warren, Clemson
Joe Ogilvie, Duke
Kevin Streelman, Duke
George McNeill, Florida State
David Duval, Georgia Tech
Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech
Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Woody Austin, Miami
Davis Love III, North Carolina
Patrick Moore, North Carolina
Mark Wilson, North Carolina
Matt Hill, NC State
Garth Mulroy, NC State
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Jerry Richardson, Jr., NC State
James Driscoll, Virginia
Steve Marino, Virginia
Johnson Wagner, Virginia Tech
Drew Weaver, Virginia Tech
Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest