Wyndham Championship Features Solid ACC Contingent

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Twenty-four golfers with Atlantic Coast Conference ties are among the field at the 2011 Wyndham Championship starting Thursday, August 18 at Sedgefield Country Club.

The Greensboro stop of the PGA TOUR features five former Clemson players and incoming Tiger freshman Billy Kennerly, who will enroll in school next week after competing in this week's tournament.

The list includes 2009 U.S. Open champion Lucas Glover (Clemson); former ACC Individual champions in North Carolina's Davis Love III (1984), Clemson's Charles Warren (1998), Georgia Tech's David Duval (1991 & 1993) and Cameron Tringale (2006) and Wake Forest's Webb Simpson (2008).

Four former alumni from Georgia Tech are among the Wyndham Championship field, which also includes three alumni from NC State, two apiece from Duke, Virginia, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest and one each from Florida State, Miami and North Carolina.

The ACC has an even stronger tie to Sedgefield - the conference was founded there on May 8, 1953, and has made its headquarters in Greensboro throughout its 58-plus years of existence. The ACC's current office is only a few miles from the course.

Below is the complete list of ACC alumni competing in the 2011 Wyndham Championship.

Lucas Glover, Clemson
Billy Kennerly, Clemson
Ben Martin, Clemson
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
D.J. Trahan, Clemson
Charles Warren, Clemson
Joe Ogilvie, Duke
Nate Smith, Duke
George McNeill, Florida State
David Duval, Georgia Tech
Troy Matteson, Georgia Tech
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech
Matt Weibring, Georgia Tech
Woody Austin, Miami
Carl Pettersson, NC State
Jerry Richardson, NC State
Marc Turnesa, NC State
Davis Love III, North Carolina
James Driscoll, Virginia
Steve Marino, Virginia
Brendon de Jonge, Virginia Tech
Johnson Wagner, Virginia Tech
Bill Haas, Wake Forest
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest