2012 Wyndham Championship Features 21 ACC Golfers

Aug. 15, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2012 Wyndham Championship field includes 21 participants with ties to the Atlantic Coast Conference. The Wyndham Championship, August 13-19, is held in Greensboro, N.C., at the Sedgefield Country Club. Greensboro has also served as home for the ACC’s headquarters since its founding in 1953, also at Sedgefield.

Georgia Tech leads all schools, with five former student-athletes competing in the Greensboro stop of the PGA TOUR.

Two notable conference alumni to keep an eye on are former Wake Forest student-athletes Webb Simpson and Bill Haas. Simpson earned his first ever tour victory at the 2011 Wyndham Championship, and the former Demon Deacon is returning to Sedgefield to defend his title. Additionally Haas and Simpson finished first and second, respectively, in the 2011 FedExCup standings, and Haas won the 2011 Tour Championship while Simpson won the 2011 Deutsche Bank Championship and the 2012 US Open this past June.

The ACC returns 10 participants from the 2011 Wyndham Championship: Simpson, Haas, Lucas Glover (Clemson), George McNeil (Florida State), David Duval (Georgia Tech), Troy Matteson (Georgia Tech), Carl Pettersson (NC State), Davis Love III (North Carolina), James Driscoll (Virginia) and Brendon de Jonge, (Virginia Tech).

In addition, the conference is represented by four 2012 Masters participants: Simpson, Haas, Glover and Tim Clark (NC State).

Listed below are all the names of former ACC golfers competing in the 2012 Wyndham Championship.

Name School
Tommy Biershenk Clemson
Lucas Glover Clemson
D.J. Trahan Clemson
Kevin Streelman Duke
Jonas Blixt Florida State
George McNeill Florida State
Roberto Castro Georgia Tech
David Duval Georgia Tech
Chesson Hadley + Georgia Tech
Troy Matteson Georgia Tech
Bryce Molder Georgia Tech
Davis Love III North Carolina
Tim Clark NC State
Garth Mulroy NC State
Carl Pettersson NC State
James Driscoll Virginia
Ben Kohles + Virginia
Brendon de Jonge Virginia Tech
Bill Haas Wake Forest
Kyle Reifers Wake Forest
Webb Simpson Wake Forest
+ Awarded sponsor exemption