2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team Announced

June 28, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Brendan Gielow of Wake Forest leads the 2010 All-ACC Academic Team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Gielow, a senior religion major, is a three-time All-ACC Academic team selection and a 2010 All-ACC team honoree. This past season, he captured the 2010 Byron Nelson Award which is awarded to the collegiate golfer showing excellence on the course, in the classroom and in the community. He was a semifinalist for the Ben Hogan Award and was a Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award recipient. Gielow landed on the CoSIDA ESPN The Magazine’s Academic All-America second team as well as Ping’s All-Region team and All-America third team.

Five golfers who earned All-ACC honors this past season secured spots on the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic Men’s Golf Team. To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

All-ACC Academic team members also earning All-ACC honors in 2010 were Duke’s Adam Long, Georgia Tech’s James White, Virginia’s Will Collins and Wake Forest’s Lee Bedford and Brendan Gielow.

Duke led the way with five players represented on the All-ACC Academic team. Georgia Tech and Wake Forest claimed three players each while Boston College, Clemson and North Carolina captured two players each. NC State, Virginia and Virginia Tech landed one player each to round out the team.

Seven golfers were repeat honorees from the 2009 All-ACC Academic team, which includes Boston College’s Kyle McCartan, Duke’s Adam Long, Georgia Tech’s James White, North Carolina’s Chase McFarland and Henry Zaytoun, and Wake Forest’s Lee Bedford and Brendan Gielow.

2010 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team
Name, Class, SchoolMajor
Craig Kublin, Jr., Boston CollegeCommunications
$Kyle McCartan, So., Boston CollegeManagement/CSOM
Jacob Burger, So., ClemsonMarketing
Crawford Reeves, Fr., ClemsonBusiness
Spencer Anderson, So., DukePolitical Science
#Adam Long, Sr., DukeSociology
Brinson Paolini, Fr., DukeUndeclared
Wes Roach, Jr., DukeSociology
Julian Suri, Fr., DukeUndeclared
Alexander Andrews, Fr., Georgia TechManagement
Kyle Scott, Sr., Georgia TechManagement
$James White, So., Georgia TechManagement
!Chase McFarland, Sr., North CarolinaBusiness Administration
##Henry Zaytoun, Jr., North CarolinaHistory
Mark McMillen, So., NC StateManagement
Will Collins, Jr., VirginiaKinesiology
%Aaron Eckstein, Jr., Virginia TechFinance
Evan Beck, Fr., Wake ForestUndeclared
$Lee Bedford, So., Wake ForestFinance
#Brendan Gielow, Sr., Wake ForestReligion
$Repeat honoree (2009)
#Repeat honoree (2007-08-09)
##Repeat honoree (2008, 2009)
!Repeat honoree (2006 & 2008, 2009)
%Repeat honoree (2008)
ACC Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest