2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team Announced

June 21, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year James White of Georgia Tech leads the 2011 All-ACC Academic Team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

White, a management major, is a two-time All-ACC Academic and All-ACC team honoree. He has been named to the ACC Honor Roll for the past two seasons. The Acworth, Ga., junior led Georgia Tech back to the NCAA Championship in 2011 after helping the Yellow Jackets capture the 2011 ACC Men’s Golf Title. White was named to the All-American Ping and Golfweek First Teams and the Ping All-Region East Team. His 71.56 scoring average for the 2011 season ranked him second among his teammates. He has finished in the top 10 in seven events, winning twice, and has been Georgia Tech’s top finisher in five tournaments. White was named ACC Co-Player of the Month for both February and March, 2011.

Four golfers who earned All-ACC honors this season secured spots on the 2011 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team: Duke’s Brinson Paolini, Georgia Tech’s James White, Wake Forest’s Evan Beck and Lee Bedford.

All eleven schools were represented on this year’s All-ACC Academic Team. Duke led the way with five players represented. Wake Forest claimed three players, while Clemson, Maryland and NC State captured two players each. Boston College, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Virginia and Virginia Tech landed one player each to round out the team.

Nine golfers were repeat honorees from the 2010 All-ACC Academic team, which includes Clemson’s Crawford Reeves, Duke’s Brinson Paolini and Julian Suri, Georgia Tech’s James White, North Carolina’s Henry Zaytoun, III, NC State’s Mark McMillen, Virginia’s Will Collins and Wake Forest’s Evan Beck and Lee Bedford. Virginia’s Collins was one of 36 student-athletes to earn a Weaver-James-Corrigan Scholarship award this spring.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team

Name, Class, School, Major
John Nurczynski, Jr., Boston College, Accounting and Finance
Thomas Bradshaw, Fr., Clemson, Pre-Business
*Crawford Reeves, So., Clemson, Marketing
Austin Cody, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
Tim Gornik, So., Duke, Computer Science
Yaroslav Merkulov, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
*Brinson Paolini, So., Duke, Psychology
*Julian Suri, So., Duke, History
Kyle Cobb, Sr., Florida State, Political Science
#James White, Jr., Georgia Tech, Management
Stephen Bosdosh, Jr., Maryland, Economics
Sean Brannan, Jr., Maryland, Economics
##Henry Zaytoun, III, Sr., North Carolina, History
Chad Day, Jr., NC State, Finance
*Mark McMillen, Jr., NC State, Finance
*Will Collins, Sr., Virginia, Kinesiology
Bryce Chalkley, Fr., Virginia Tech, General Engineering
*Evan Beck, So., Wake Forest, Business
#Lee Bedford, Jr., Wake Forest, Finance
Charlie Harrison, So., Wake Forest, Economics

*Repeat honoree (2010)
#Repeat honoree (2009-10)
##Repeat honoree (2008-10)

ACC Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: James White, Georgia Tech