Twelve ACC Golfers Set for U.S. Open

June 12, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( -- Twelve golfers from ACC schools, including defending champion Webb Simpson of Wake Forest, will tee off Thursday at the 113th U.S. Open Championship at the Merion Golf Club in Ardmore, Pa. The 12 golfers are the second most of any conference in the country, behind only the 13 from the Pac-12, as five ACC programs have multiple representatives in the field.

Clemson's Lucas Glover, the 2009 U.S. Open winner, and Georgia Tech's Stewart Cink, who won The Open Championship in 2009, join Simpson as past ACC major winners at Merion. If Simpson can repeat as U.S. Open champion, he would be the first golfer to do so since fellow Demon Deacon Curtis Strange accomplished the feat in 1988-89.

Yellow Jacket Matt Kuchar, who is looking for his first victory at a major, started June with a win at the Memorial Tournament and is one of only two players to have multiple victories on tour this season. Ranked fourth in the world, he leads seven ACC golfers at Merion that are ranked in the top 60 worldwide.

Hosting the U.S. Open for the fifth time and the first since 1981, Merion Golf Club is the site where Georgia Tech's Bobby Jones completed the Grand Slam in 1930.

Jones, who won the U.S. Open four times, is one of seven players from current ACC schools to have won the championship. The group has combined for 11 U.S. Open titles and includes Clemson's Glover, Florida State's Hubert Green, Georgia Tech's Jones, North Carolina's Raymond Floyd, and Wake Forest's Arnold Palmer, Simpson, and Strange.

ACC Golfers in the 2013 U.S. Open Field

  • Lucas Glover, Clemson

  • Kyle Stanley, Clemson

  • Joe Ogilvie, Duke

  • Kevin Streelman, Duke

  • Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech

  • Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech

  • Nicholas Thompson, Georgia Tech

  • Matt Weibring, Georgia Tech

  • Tim Clark, NC State

  • Carl Pettersson, NC State

  • Bill Haas, Wake Forest

  • Webb Simpson, Wake Forest