ACC Announces Men's Golf All-Conference Teams and Individual Award Winners

May 21, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- The Atlantic Coast Conference announced its 2013 Men's Golf All-Conference team and individual awards today as selected by the league’s 11 head coaches. NC State junior Albin Choi was named the ACC Player of the Year and Florida State’s Hank Lebioda was selected ACC Freshman of the Year. Duke’s Jamie Green garnered ACC Coach of the Year honors.

In becoming only the third NC State player to be named ACC Player of the Year, Choi is currently ranked third by Golfstat and 26th by Golfweek. The Toronto, Ontario, junior was the only ACC player among the 10 semifinalists for The Ben Hogan Award and currently leads all ACC golfers with five victories during the 2012-13 season. In addition, Choi, a three-time All-ACC selection, ranks second in the league with a 70.71 scoring average.

Lebioda leads all ACC freshmen, and ranks ninth overall, in stroke average (71.84) and is ranked 94th by Golfweek. In becoming only the second Seminole to earn ACC Freshman of the Year honors, the Winter Spring, Fla., product finished tied for 10th place at last month’s ACC Championship with a three-under 213 (68-71-74) and during the spring season finished no worse than 19th in five tournament competitions.

Green, in his fourth season at the helm of the Duke program, was named ACC Coach of the Year honors after leading his Blue Devils to their first ACC title since 2005, and the program’s seventh overall. Duke won five tournament titles this season and placed in the top six in eight of 10 tournaments overall.

Eight of the 11 ACC men’s golf programs are represented on this year’s All-ACC team. Florida State led the way with three players selected to the All-ACC squad. Seminole sophomore Daniel Berger, the runner-up in the balloting for ACC Player of the Year, was joined on the team by senior Chase Seiffert and Lebioda.

Georgia Tech and Virginia Tech each had two players tabbed for the All-ACC team, with Duke, Maryland, NC State, Virginia and Wake Forest each having one player chosen.

The Yellow Jackets are represented on the All-ACC squad by a pair of sophomores in Anders Albertson, the 2013 ACC individual champion with a record-setting 15-under 201 (66-67-68), and Ollie Schniederjans. The Hokies placed sophomore Scott Vincent and senior Mikey Moyers.

Choi, Wake Forest’s Evan Beck, Maryland’s Sean Bosdosh, Virginia’s Denny McCarthy and Duke’s Brinson Paolini complete the 12-member All-ACC squad.

2013 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team

Anders Albertson, So., Georgia Tech, Woodstock, Ga.
Evan Beck, Sr., Wake Forest, Virginia Beach, Va.
Daniel Berger, So., Florida State, Jupiter, Fla.
Sean Bosdosh, Jr., Maryland, Clarksburg, Md.
Albin Choi, Jr., NC State, Toronto, Canada
Hank Lebioda, Fr., Florida State, Winter Springs, Fla.
Denny McCarthy, So., Virginia, Rockville, Md.
Mikey Moyers, Sr., Virginia Tech, Stanardsville, Va.
Brinson Paolini, Sr., Duke, Virginia Beach, Va.
Ollie Schniederjans, So., Georgia Tech, Powder Springs, Ga.
Chase Seiffert, Sr., Florida State, Panama City, Florida
Scott Vincent, So., Virginia Tech, Harare, Zimbabwe