ACC Announces 2012 All-Conference Men's Golf Team

May 10, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Atlantic Coast Conference Champion Georgia Tech and runner-up Virginia led the way by placing three players each on the 2012 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team, as selected by a vote of the league’s coaches.

Georgia Tech was represented on the All-ACC team by James White, Anders Albertson and Bo Andrews. This was White’s third consecutive appearance, while Albertson and Andrews were first-time honorees.

Led by automatic member Ben Rusch, the individual medalist at the ACC Championship, the Cavaliers were led by Ben Kohles, earning his third straight All-ACC accolade, and ACC Freshman of the Year Denny McCarthy.

Florida State claimed two selections on the All-ACC team. ACC Player of the Year Brooks Koepka captured his third-consecutive honor on the team, while teammate Chase Seiffert captured his first such award.

Clemson, Duke, NC State and Wake Forest rounded out the 12-member team with one selection each. Clemson’s Corbin Mills and Duke’s Julian Suri captured team honors for the first time. NC State’s Freshman of the Year last year, Albin Choi garnered his second straight All-ACC accolade. Wake Forest was represented by third-consecutive honoree Lee Bedford.

Florida State’s Koepka was voted Player of the Year after being named Co-Player of the Year with Virginia’s Kohles in 2010 and Freshman of the Year in 2009. Virginia’s McCarthy was the Cavalier’s third ACC Freshman of the Year honoree, and the most recent Virginia golfer to receive that award since Lewis Chitengwa in 1995. Georgia Tech’s Bruce Heppler was named ACC Coach of the Year, his second-consecutive and seventh such honor overall in the Atlantic Coast Conference.

Georgia Tech captured its fourth straight and 14th overall title at the ACC Men’s Golf Championship in April.

2012 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)

Name School Yr. Hometown
Corbin Mills Clemson Jr. Anderson, S.C.
Julian Suri Duke Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
Brooks Koepka Florida State Sr. Wellington, Fla.
Chase Seiffert Florida State Jr. Panama City, Fla.
James White Georgia Tech Sr. Acworth, Ga.
Anders Albertson Georgia Tech Fr. Woodstock, Ga.
Bo Andrews Georgia Tech So. Raleigh, N.C.
Albin Choi NC State So. Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Denny McCarthy Virginia Fr. Rockville, Md.
Ben Kohles Virginia Sr. Cary, N.C.
Ben Rusch Virginia So. Weinfelden, Switzerland
Lee Bedford Wake Forest Sr. Cary, N.C.

ACC Player of the Year
Brooks Koepka, Florida State

ACC Freshman of the Year
Denny McCarthy, Virginia

ACC Coach of the Year
Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech