ACC Announces 2011 All-Conference Men's Golf Team

May 9, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Georgia Tech, the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Golf Champion, led the way by placing four players on the 2011 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team, as selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches.

Led by automatic member Paul Haley, the individual medalist at the ACC Championship, Georgia Tech was represented on the All-ACC team by James White, John-Tyler Griffin and Kyle Scott. Griffin and White made their second consecutive appearance on the team, while Scott and Haley were first-time honorees. This marks the sixth year that a team has placed four individuals on the All-ACC team. Georgia Tech placed four in 2005, Clemson in 2000 and 2003 and Wake Forest in 1975 and 1980.

Florida State, NC State and Wake Forest claimed two selections each on the All-ACC team. Seminoles’ Brooks Koepka, last year’s Co-Player of the Year captured his second-consecutive accolade, while teammate Drew Kittleson captured his second honor. NC State’s unanimous ACC Freshman of the Year selection Albin Choi appeared on the team for the first time and teammate Mitchell Sutton also garnered his first accolade. The Demon Deacons were represented by second-consecutive honoree Lee Bedford and first-time honoree Evan Beck. Duke’s Brinson Paolini made his first appearance on the team. Paolini was the 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year.

Virginia’s Ben Kohles, the 2011 ACC Player of the Year, made his second-straight appearance on the All-ACC team, while earning his second consecutive ACC Player of the Year award. Kohles was Co-Player of the Year in 2010 with Florida State’s Brooks Koepka.

NC State’s Albin Choi, selected as the 2011 Freshman of the Year, is the Wolfpack’s third such honoree, the most recent freshman of the year selection being Tim Clark in 1996.

Georgia Tech’s Bruce Heppler was named ACC Coach of the Year, his sixth such honor in the Atlantic Coast Conference. Georgia Tech captured its third straight and 13th overall title at the ACC Men’s Golf Championship in April with a low team record score of 33-under par 831.

2011 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team
(Listed alphabetically by school)

Name School Yr. Hometown
Brinson Paolini, Duke, So., Virginia Beach, Va.
Drew Kittleson, Florida State, Sr., Scottsdale, Ariz.
Brooks Koepka, Florida State, Jr., Wellington, Fla.
John-Tyler Griffin, Georgia Tech, Sr., Wilson, N.C.
Paul Haley, Georgia Tech, Sr., Dallas, Tex.
Kyle Scott, Georgia Tech, Sr., Johannesburg, South Africa
James White, Georgia Tech, Jr., Acworth, Ga.
Albin Choi, NC State, Fr., Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mitchell Sutton, NC State, So., London, Ontario, Canada
Ben Kohles, Virginia, Jr., Cary, N.C.
Evan Beck, Wake Forest, So., Virginia Beach, Va.
Lee Bedford, Wake Forest, Jr., Cary, N.C.

ACC Player of the Year
Ben Kohles, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Albin Choi, NC State (unanimous)

ACC Coach of the Year
Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech