Record-Tying Nine ACC Men's Golf Teams Earn NCAA Tournament Bids

May 6, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – A record-tying nine Atlantic Coast Conference teams have earned bids to the 2013 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships, the NCAA Men’s Golf Selection Committee announced this evening on its annual selection show.

The nine selections ties the league’s previous best originally set in 2007 and matched in 2008 and 2010.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 16-18. There will be 13 teams and 10 individuals not on those teams competing at each of three regionals, while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

This year’s NCAA Regional sites are the University Club in Baton Rouge, La.; Golden Eagle Country Club in Tallahassee, Fla.; The Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio; The Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.; Karsten Golf Course in Tempe, Ariz. and Palouse Ridge Golf Club in Pullman, Wash.

The finals will be conducted May 28-June 2, at The Capital City Club Crabapple Course in Atlanta, Ga.

ACC Champion Duke is the No. 2 seed at the Tempe, Ariz., Regional. The Blue Devils will be joined by fifth-seeded Clemson and eighth-seeded North Carolina. Four ACC teams will participate at the Tallahassee, Fla., Regional with Georgia Tech leading the way as the No. 2 seed. Host Florida State is the No. 3 seed, followed by Wake Forest as the No. 6 seed and NC State the No. 7 seed.

Virginia Tech earned the No. 5 seed at the Pullman, Wash., Regional and Virginia is the No. 11 seed at the Columbus, Ohio Regional.

Maryland’s Sean Bosdosh was selected to compete as an individual participant at the Tallahassee, Fla., Regional.

2013 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship – Regional Tournaments

Golden Eagle Golf and Country Club – Tallahassee, Fla. (Host: Florida State)

1. Washington, 2. Georgia Tech, 3. Florida State, 4. North Florida, 5. Oklahoma, 6. Wake Forest, 7. NC State, 8. Oregon, 9. Oregon State, 10. Iowa, 11. South Florida, 12. San Diego, 13. Loyola (Md.)                

ASU Karsten Golf Course – Tempe, Az. (Host: Arizona State)

1. UCLA, 2. Duke, 3. Georgia, 4. Texas A&M, 5. Clemson, 6. Vanderbilt, 7. UCF, 8. North Carolina, 9. Arizona State, 10. Kennesaw State, 11. Arizona, 12. Austin Peay, 13. New Mexico State, 14. Lehigh

Palouse Ridge Golf Club – Pullman, Wash. (Host: Washington State)

1. California, 2. TCU, 3. USC, 4. St. Mary’s (Calif.), 5. Virginia Tech, 6. BYU, 7. North Texas, 8. Baylor, 9. San Diego State, 10. Ball State, 11. Memphis, 12. Pacific, 13. Princeton, 14. Saint Francis

The Ohio State University Golf Club, Scarlet Course – Columbus, Ohio (Host: Ohio State)

1. New Mexico, 2. Stanford, 3. Auburn, 4. South Carolina, 5. Missouri, 6. UNLV, 7. Texas Tech, 8. Chattanooga, 9. Georgia Southern, 10. San Francisco, 11. Virginia, 12. Charlotte, 13. Valparaiso

University Club – Baton Rouge, La. (Host: LSU)

1. Alabama, 2. Florida, 3. LSU, 4. Miss State, 5. Houston, 6. Northwestern, 7. Tennessee, 8. South Alabama, 9. Coastal Carolina, 10. UAB, 11. Wichita State, 12. SW Louisiana, 13. Houston Baptist

The Blessings Golf Club – Fayetteville Ark. (Host: Arkansas)

1. Texas, 2. Arkansas, 3. Oklahoma State, 4. SMU, 5. Kent state, 6. Illinois, 7. Liberty, 8. Tulsa, 9. Kentucky, 10. Colorado, 11. Indiana, 12. UNC Wilmington, 13. UMKC, 14. Alabama State