The 60th Annual ACC Men's Golf Championship Tees Off Friday

April 23, 2013

The 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Men's Golf Championship returns to the Old North State Country Club in New London, N.C., for the 12th straight year and 28th time overall. The 54-hole tournament will be held April 26-28, on the par 72, 7,102-yard course. Each round begins at 8:30 a.m., on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

Championship Field
The 2013 ACC Championship features eight teams currently ranked in the top 50 of the latest Golfweek rankings ... Georgia Tech leads the way with a No. 9 ranking, followed by No. 10 Duke, No. 13 Florida State, No. 29 Clemson, No. 37 Wake Forest, No. 38 Virginia Tech, No. 42 North Carolina and No. 45 NC State ... Virginia, Maryland and Boston College round the field for the 2013 championship.

Six ACC Golfers ranked in the Golfweek Top 50
Six ACC Golfers ranked in the Golfweek Top 50 Six ACC individuals are currently ranked in the top 50 of the latest Golfweek rankings ...NC State's Albin Choi and Florida State's Daniel Berger are both ranked in the top 10, with Choi seventh and Berger 10th ... Duke's Brinson Paolini is ranked 18th, followed by Wake Forest's Evan Beck (24), Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans (25) and Anders Albertson (35).

Choi has captured a league-high five individual titles this season, including three in the spring ... Berger and Maryland's Sean Bosdosh have both won two individual titles ... overall, 10 ACC golfers have won, or tied for, 14 individual titles, including seven this spring.

2012 - A look back
Georgia Tech led from start to finish and claimed its fourth consecutive ACC Championship by seven strokes over second-place Virginia, finishing 27-under 837 ... the Yellow Jackets have won, or tied for, six of the past seven ACC titles and eight in the last 13 years ... Virginia's Ben Rusch won the individual title at 10-under 206, followed by Wake Forest's Lee Bedford (207) and Virginia Tech's Blake Redmond (208).

ACC Championship history
Wake Forest boasts the most league titles with 18, Georgia Tech is second with 14 and North Carolina (11) is third ... nine of the current 11 ACC teams have either won outright, or tied, for a league title ... in the first ACC Championship held in 1954 at Old Town Club in Winston-Salem, Duke earned team honors while Wake Forest's Arnold Palmer captured individual honors ... the Deacons also have produced the most individual champions with 22, followed by North Carolina (13) and Georgia Tech (8).

Six of the top 10 finishers from a year ago return
Six of the top 10 finishers from the 2012 ACC championship return in 2013, led by Georgia Tech's Anders Albertson and Virginia's Denny McCarthy ... Albertson and McCarthy tied for fourth last year with seven-under 209 scores ... Georgia Tech's Ollie Schniederjans, Bo Andrews and Ricky Werenski and Florida State's Daniel Berger tied for seventh with five-under 211 scores.