Nine ACC Golfers Start Play at the Masters on Thursday

April 11, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Nine golfers from five schools will represent the Atlantic Coast Conference at the 2013 Masters Tournament in Augusta, Ga., April 11-14.

The ACC and SEC are tied for the most former players in this year’s field with nine, followed by the Pac-12 with seven, the Mountain West with five, the Big 12 with four, and the Big Ten with three based on current conference alignment.

Georgia Tech has the most former golfers from the ACC with three –Matt Kuchar, 2009 The Open Championship winner Stewart Cink, and Larry Mize, the 1987 Masters champion who is making his 30th appearance in the tournament. The three Yellow Jackets ties with Oklahoma State for the most of any school.

NC State’s Tim Clark and Carl Pettersson will represent the Wolfpack at the Masters. Clark, the 2006 runner-up, is making his 12th appearance, while Pettersson is entering his fifth Masters.

Wake Forest also has two former student-athletes in the field. Last year’s U.S. Open champion, Webb Simpson, will be in the Masters field for the second time in his career. Fellow Demon Deacon Bill Haas is making his fourth appearance.

Clemson’s Lucas Glover, the 2009 U.S. Open winner, has played at the Masters six times and in four straight years. Former Duke Blue Devil Kevin Streelman will be competing for his second time.

Four golfers from current ACC schools have won a combined seven Masters. Wake Forest’s Arnold Palmer has won four times, which is tied for the second most in history with Stanford’s Tiger Woods behind only Ohio State’s Jack Nicklaus with six. Duke’s Art Wall, Jr., Georgia Tech’s Mize, and North Carolina’s Raymond Floyd have also been victorious in Augusta.

Official Masters Tournament profiles:

Lucas Glover, Clemson

Kevin Streelman, Duke

Larry Mize, Georgia Tech

Stewart Cink, Georgia Tech

Matt Kuchar, Georgia Tech

Tim Clark, NC State

Carl Pettersson, NC State

Webb Simpson, Wake Forest

Bill Haas, Wake Forest