Twelve ACC Golfers to Start Play in Masters on Thursday

GREENSBORO, N.C. & CLEMSON, S.C. -- Twelve golfers from six schools will represent the Atlantic Coast Conference at the 2012 Masters in Augusta, Ga. April 5 - 8.

The ACC has the most former players among conferences with 12 followed by the Pac 10 with 11, the Big 12 with 10 and the SEC with five. Six different ACC schools have at least one current or former player in this year's Masters.

Clemson has the most representatives from the ACC with four - Jonathan Byrd, Lucas Glover, Corbin Mills and Kyle Stanley. Only Oklahoma State has more (five) representatives from one individual school.

Mills is the only ACC representative who currently golfs as a student-athlete., He is a junior on the Clemson team this year and he qualified for the Masters by winning the 2011 United States Public Links Championship in Oregon. This year, Mills is ranked 22nd in the nation among college players according to the Sagarin college rankings, best among current Tigers, and is 12th in the World Amateur rankings by Golfweek, fifth among United States players. (rankings as of March 25).

Georgia Tech has the next most with three golfers - Stuart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Larry Mize.

Other participants are Bill Haas and Webb Simpson (Wake Forest); Mark Wilson (North Carolina), Tim Clark (NC State); Johnson Wagner (Virginia Tech).

2012 Masters Field by United States School

1. Oklahoma State (5), Rickie Fowler, Charles Howell, Hunter Mahan, Bo Van Pelt Scott Verplank

2. Clemson (4) Jonathan Byrd, Lucas Glover, Corbin Mills (A), Kyle Stanley

3. Arizona State (3) Paul Casey, Phil Mickelson, Chez Reavie

Georgia Tech (3) Stuart Cink, Matt Kuchar, Larry Mize

5. UCLA (2) Patrick Cantley, Kevin Chappell

Houston (2) Fred Couples, Anders Hansen

Texas (2) Ben Crenshaw, Harrison Frazer

Arizona (2) Jim Furyk, Rory Sabbatini

Wake Forest (2) Bill Haas, Webb Simpson

Georgia (2) Bryden Macpherson, Bubba Watson

Stanford (2) Tom Watson, Tiger Woods

12. Auburn (1) Jason Dufner

BYU (1) Mike Weir

Cal Riverside (1) Brendon Steele

Coastal Carolina (1) Dustin Johnson

Colorado State (1) Martin Laird

Drake (1) Zach Johnson

Fresno State (1) Nick Watney

Illinois (1) Steve Stricker

Kansas (1) Gary Woodland

Long Beach State (1) Mark O'Meara

LSU (1) David Toms

North Carolina (1) Mark Wilson

NC State (1) Tim Clark

Northwestern (1) Luke Donald

Oregon (1) Ben Crane

St. John's (1) Keegan Bradley

Southern Cal (1) Craig Stadler

SMU (1) Kelly Kraft (A)

Texas A&M (1) Ryan Palmer

Texas Tech (1) Scott Stallings

UAB (1) Graeme McDowell

UNLV (1) Adam Scott

Vanderbilt (1) Brent Snedeker

Virginia Tech (1) Johnson Wagner