ACC Has Three Unanimous All-Americas For Only Second Time In History

Dec. 15, 2010

GREENSBORO, NC –For only the second time in its history, the Atlantic Coast Conference has had three of its football student-athletes chosen as unanimous All-Americas when Boston College sophomore linebacker Luke Kuechly, Clemson junior Defensive End Da’Quan Bowers and Florida State senior offensive guard Rodney Hudson Tuesday were all named first-team All-Americas by the Sporting News.

Kuechly from Cincinnati, Ohio, Bowers from Bamberg, S.C., and Hudson, from Mobile, Ala., had previously been named first-team All-Americas by the Associated Press, the American Coaches Football Association (AFCA), the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) and the Walter Camp Foundation.

Additionally the trio were also named first-team All-America by,, and, giving each nine first-team All-America citations.

The three unanimous All-America selections ties the ACC’s all-time high of unanimous All-Americas set in 2004 when Virginia’s Heath Miller, Florida State’s Alex Barron and Antrel Rolle of Miami all earned unanimous All-America honors.

A total of 10 college football players were named unanimous All-Americas this year and the ACC tied the Big Ten for most selections with three each, followed by the Big 12 with two, and the Pac-10 and SEC with one apiece.

Bowers, who was named the winner of the coveted Bronko Nagurski Award—given annually by the FWAA to the nation’s top defensive player—and the Ted Hendricks Award, which is presented annually to the nation’s top defensive end, was also named National Defensive Player of the Year by He was the ACC Defensive Player of the Year and leads the nation QB sacks (15.5) and is second nationally in tackles for loss.

Kuechly, a finalist for the Nagurski, Bednarik and Dick Butkus Awards, leads the nation in tackles per game (14.2) and solo tackles per game (8.5) and has a current streak of 21 consecutive games with 10 or more tackles, the nation’s longest current streak.

Hudson, who was a finalist for the coveted Outland Trophy, is just the 11th two-time winner of the ACC’s Jacobs Blocking Trophy. Presented annually on a vote of the ACC’s head coaches and defensive coordinators to the league’s top blocker. He is also only the 4th position player in ACC history to earn All-ACC first or second team honors in each of his four collegiate seasons, and the only offensive lineman to named first-team All-ACC three times.