Amerson Wins 2011 Jack Tatum Award

Dec. 5, 2011

RALEIGH, N.C. - NC State cornerback David Amerson has been named the recipient of the 2011 Jack Tatum Award, which is given annually to the top defensive back in college football by The Touchdown Club of Columbus. Amerson, a first-team All-ACC performer who is also a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, is the FBS leader in interceptions with 11 this season, setting a new school record and tying the ACC single season mark.

Named for the late Ohio State and NFL legend Jack Tatum, past winners of the Tatum Award include Charles Woodson (Michigan), the late Sean Taylor (Miami), and last year's winner Patrick Peterson (LSU).

The Jack Tatum Award will be presented during the 57th Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards Banquet on Saturday evening, February 11, 2012, at the Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in the Arena District of Downtown Columbus. For additional information on the Club's history, visit