Virginia's London Named ACC Coach of the Year

Nov. 29, 2011

Greensboro, N.C. (AP, ACSMA) - Virginia's Mike London, who guided Virginia from a four-win season to the brink of the ACC Championship Game in his second season on the job, is the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Coach of the Year as announced by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association today.

The Cavaliers contended for the Coastal Division title until the final week and enter their bowl game with an 8-4 record -- a reversal of their 4-8 finish in 2010. He became the ninth Virginia coach to win the award -- the most among ACC schools -- and first since Al Groh did it in 2007.

London said he was "both honored and humbled" by the award.

"More than anything, I am extremely proud of the performance by our players and coaches," London said. "This is really a reflection on their efforts this year. Quite honestly, I do not think there were very many people outside of our locker room who felt we could go into the final week of the season with a chance to advance to the ACC championship game. As a coach, you live for the kind of moments where your team buys in, puts in the work and the effort and sees the positive results that come from it."

London had 31 votes to win the top coaching award, with Virginia Tech's Frank Beamer receiving 12 votes and Clemson's Dabo Swinney receiving two. He becomes only the second man in more than 20 years to earn the honor in his first or second year as an FBS-level coach. Maryland's Ralph Friedgen was ACC Coach of the Year in his rookie campaign of 2001 and Duke's Steve Spurrier won the award in 1988, his second season in charge of a major-college program.

Voting for the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference coach of the year award, as voted on by 45 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Mike London, Virginia (31)
Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech (12)
Dabo Swinney, Clemson (2)