2010 All-ACC Football Teams Announced

Nov. 29, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. (AP) - Boston College's Montel Harris and record-setting Clemson defensive end Da'Quan Bowers headline the All-Atlantic Coast Conference football team.

Harris and Bowers were the leading vote recipients on the All-ACC team, announced Monday following a vote of 61 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Harris averaged an ACC-best 104 yards rushing and was the only unanimous first-team selection, receiving 122 points during voting. A first-team vote was worth two points, and a second-team vote was worth one. Bowers, who had a sack in a school-record nine straight games, had 120 voting points.

Clemson and Maryland had four players each selected to the first team. Every school except Duke and Wake Forest had at least one player on the first team.

Atlantic Division champion Florida State was led by guard Rodney Hudson, who made the first team for the third straight year, and defensive end Brandon Jenkins, who had 12 sacks. The Seminoles wrapped up a spot in this weekend's league title game with North Carolina State's loss at Maryland.

Their title-game opponent, Coastal Division champion Virginia Tech, had three players selected. Quarterback Tyrod Taylor led the league with a pass efficiency rating of 156.9, kicker Chris Hazley had an ACC-best 104 points and hit 19 of 20 field goals, and cornerback Jayron Hosley led the conference with eight interceptions.

The Hokies also had eight players named to the second team, giving them a total of 11 honorees.

Bowers was joined on the first team by Clemson teammates Chris Hairston at offensive tackle, Jarvis Jenkins at defensive tackle and DeAndre McDaniel at safety. Bowers, Jenkins and McDaniel were the cornerstones of the ACC's stingiest defense, allowing an average of 17.8 points.

Maryland was represented by big-play threats Torrey Smith at receiver and Tony Logan at specialist, and linebacker Alex Wujciak and safety Kenny Tate. Logan returned two punts for touchdowns while Smith caught 12 TD passes -including a school-record four in the regular-season finale against N.C. State.

Harris was joined by two BC teammates - offensive tackle Anthony Castonzo and linebacker Luke Kuechly - on the first team. Kuechly led the nation with 171 total tackles and 102 solo stops.

Other first-team selections were receiver Leonard Hankerson, guard Brandon Washington and punter Matt Bosher of Miami; center Sean Bedford and running back Anthony Allen of Georgia Tech; tight end George Bryan and linebacker Nate Irving of N.C. State; North Carolina defensive tackle Quinton Coples; and Virginia cornerback Chase Minnifield.

Castonzo, Bedford, Bryan, Kuechly, Wujciak and McDaniel were repeat selections to the first team.

Wake Forest was the only school with no players picked to the first or second teams.

The 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference football team as voted on by 61 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. NOTE: A first-team vote was worth two points and second team vote one.

QB Tyrod Taylor, Virginia Tech (77)
RB Montel Harris, Boston College (122)
RB Anthony Allen, Georgia Tech (108)
WR Leonard Hankerson, Miami (118)
WR Torrey Smith, Maryland (96)
TE George Bryan, NC State (92)
OT Anthony Castonzo, Boston College (79)
OT Chris Hairston, Clemson (69)
OG Rodney Hudson, Florida State (116)
OG Brandon Washington, Miami (50)
C Sean Bedford, Georgia Tech (91)
K Chris Hazley, Virginia Tech (100)
Spc. Tony Logan, Maryland (69)
DE Da'Quan Bowers, Clemson (120)
DE Brandon Jenkins, Florida State (101)
DT Quinton Coples, North Carolina (101)
DT Jarvis Jenkins, Clemson (63)
LB Luke Kuechly, Boston College (112)
LB Nate Irving, N.C. State (105)
LB Alex Wujciak, Maryland (78)
CB Jayron Hosley, Virginia Tech (112)
CB Chase Minnifield, Virginia (57)
S DeAndre McDaniel, Clemson (99)
S Kenny Tate, Maryland (78)
P Matt Bosher, Miami (94)
QB Russell Wilson, NC State (75)
RB Damien Berry, Miami (37)
RB Keith Payne, Virginia (30)
WR Conner Vernon, Duke (70)
WR Owen Spencer, NC State (41)
TE Dwayne Allen, Clemson (31)
OT Orlando Franklin, Miami (65)
OT Blake DeChristopher, Virginia Tech (39)
OG Jaymes Brooks, Virginia Tech (41)
OG Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech (35)
OG Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina (35)
C Ryan McMahon, Florida State (47)
K Will Snyderwine, Duke (38)
Spc. David Wilson, Virginia Tech (61)
DE Allen Bailey, Miami (51)
DE Steven Friday, Virginia Tech (42)
DT John Graves, Virginia Tech (46)
DT Joe Vellano, Maryland (33)
LB Bruce Carter, North Carolina (43)
LB Bruce Taylor, Virginia Tech (41)
LB Sean Spence, Miami (37)
CB Xavier Rhodes, Florida State (49)
CB Brandon Harris, Miami (45)
S Davon Morgan, Virginia Tech (48)
S Ray-Ray Armstrong, Miami (25)
P Brian Saunders, Virginia Tech (48)
Honorable mention
WR Dwight Jones, North Carolina (20)
OT Jake Vermiglio, NC State (34); Paul Pinegar, Maryland (27).
OG Thomas Claiborne, Boston College (34).
C Beau Warren, Virginia Tech (22).
TE Cooper Helfet, Duke (24); Andre Smith, Virginia Tech (23)
RB Johnny White, North Carolina (22).
QB T.J. Yates, North Carolina (21).
PK Casey Barth, North Carolina (20).
SP Marcus Gilchrist, Clemson (24).
DT J.R. Sweezy, NC State (26).
LB Colin McCarthy, Miami (34); Abraham Kromah, Duke (30).
CB Greg Reid, Florida State (20).