Virginia Tech's Blake DeChristopher Named 2011 ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy Recipient

Nov. 27, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech’s Blake DeChristopher has been awarded the 2011 Jacobs Blocking Trophy, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Sunday. In doing so, DeChristopher, becomes the first Virginia Tech player to be voted the Jacobs Trophy.

The Jacobs Blocking Trophy has been awarded annually since 1953 to the player voted the most outstanding blocker in the ACC by a poll of the league’s head coaches and defensive coordinators. The trophy is given in memory of William P. Jacobs, who served as president of Presbyterian College from 1935 to 1945. The trophy will be presented at the ACC’s Night of Legends event which will be held this Friday (6 pm) at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

DeChristopher, a 6-5, 312-pound fifth-year senior, was named on six of 12 ballots and totaled 10 points in one of the closest votes for the Jacobs Trophy. He outdistanced Florida State senior offensive tackle Zebrie Sanders (9 points) and North Carolina junior guard Jonathan Cooper (9) to capture the 58th ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy. No trophy was given in 1996. In all, 18 different ACC offensive linemen received votes in the balloting.

A four-year starter for Virginia Tech at tackle, DeChristopher was a 2nd-team All-ACC honoree in 2010 and earned Honorable Mention All-ACC accolades as a sophomore in 2009.

"Blake DeChristopher is solid; he's tough,” said Virginia Tech head coach Frank Beamer. “He's a guy who understands the game. Blake has started 49 games for us, and that really helps along the offensive line. You always know what you are going to get from Blake - a good day's work and all that he's got.

“The Jacobs Blocking Trophy is a prestigious honor. When you consider all of the good linemen in this league—and you are considered the best—that is quite an honor.

The Midlothian, Va., native was named ACC Offensive Lineman of the Week twice during the 2011 season: first for his play on Oct. 8 against Miami, in the Hokies’ dramatic 38-35 win over the Hurricanes, and then for his play on Nov. 17 in Virginia Tech’s 24-21 win over North Carolina.

He has started 49 games in his career and will make his 50th career start in this week’s Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game. Tech is 38-11 in games he has started. He has graded out to 91 percent on the season with a team-high 117 knockdown blocks. He graded at 90 percent or better in 11 of his 12 games this year.

He helped lead a Virginia Tech offensive line which paved the way for an offense to be ranked 26th nationally rushing offense. He led the way for running back David Wilson to rush for 1595 yards, to lead the Hokies to a No. 5 nationa1 ranking in the BCS, an 11-1 overall record and their fourth berth in the ACC title game in seven years.v

Previous Winners of the ACC Jacobs Blocking Trophy

1953 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1954 Bill Wohrman, FB, South Carolina

1955 Bob Pellegrini, C, Maryland

1956 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1957 Hal McElhaney, FB, Duke

1958 John Saunders, FB, South Carolina

1959 Doug Cline, FB, Clemson

1960 Dwight Bumgarner, T, Duke

1961 Art Gregory, T, Duke

         Jim LeCompte, G, North Carolina

1962 Art Gregory, T, Duke

1963 Chuck Walker,T, Duke

1964 Eddie Kesler, FB, North Carolina

1965 John McNabb, G, Duke

1966 Wayne Mass, T, Clemson

1967 Harry Olszewski, G, Clemson

1968 Greg Shelly, T, Virginia

1969 Ralph Sonntag, T, Maryland

1970 Dan Ryczek, C, Virginia

1971 Geoff Hamlin, FB, North Carolina

1972 Ron Rusnak, G, North Carolina

1973 Bill Yoest, G, NC State

1974 Ken Huff, G, North Carolina

1975 Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1976 Billy Bryan, C, Duke

1977 Joe Bostic, G, Clemson

1978 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1979 Jim Ritcher, C, NC State

1980 Ron Wooten, G, North Carolina

1981 Lee Nanney, T, Clemson

1982 Dave Pacella, T, Maryland

1983 James Farr, G, Clemson

1984 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1985 Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia

1986 Paul Kiser, G, Wake Forest

1987 John Phillips, G, Clemson

1988 Jeff Garnica, C, North Carolina

1989 Chris Port, T, Duke

1990 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1991 Ray Roberts, T, Virginia

1992 Ben Coleman, T, Wake Forest

1993 Mark Dixon, G, Virginia

1994 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1995 Clay Shiver, C, Florida State

1996 no recipient

1997 Tra Thomas, T, Florida State

1998 Craig Page, C, Georgia Tech

1999 John St. Clair, C, Virginia

2000 Tarlos Thomas, T, Florida State

2001 Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2002 Brett Williams, T, Florida State

2003 Elton Brown, G, Virginia

2004 Elton Brown, G,Virginia

2005 Eric Winston, T, Miami

2006 Josh Beekman, G-C, Boston College

2007 Steve Justice, C, Wake Forest

2008 Eugene Monroe, T, Virginia

2009 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State

2010 Rodney Hudson, G, Florida State