Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge to Air on ESPN2 Aug. 7

Aug. 6, 2010

ATLANTA (August 6, 2010) - The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge charity golf tournament will be nationally telecast on ESPN2 Saturday, Aug. 7 in a one-hour special starting at noon ET.

The event features the nation's top coaches from the ACC and SEC partnered with former athletes and current celebrities in two-man teams competing for a scholarship purse of $400,000.

ESPN college football play-by-play announcer Rece Davis and analyst Andre Ware serve as commentators for the golf action that includes two-time defending champions Steve Spurrier and Sterling Sharpe from the University of South Carolina, current NCAA National Champion Nick Saban from Alabama, 2007 tournament winner Frank Beamer from Virginia Tech and many others.

"Many of the coaches will wear microphones to allow viewers to listen in to their conversations on the course," said Gary Stokan, Chick-fil-A Bowl president and CEO. "It really gives an inside look into these coaches' personalities and how competitive this tournament really is. It should be a very entertaining afternoon of golf."

The show will also feature exclusive interviews with the participating coaches and highlights from the long drive and putting competitions that took place prior to the golf tournament.

The nation's premier head coach and celebrity golf event was held at the beautiful Reynolds Plantation resort on Lake Oconee outside Atlanta. Over the past four years, the Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge has provided more than $1.9 million in scholarship and charity to its participating universities.

In all, 12 teams hit the links in the featured event, all vying for the $120,000 first-place scholarship prize. University teams competing include:

TEAM:                                   COACH:                                CELEBRITY:                         
Alabama                      Nick Saban                                        Steve Sloan

Clemson                      Dabo Swinney                                    Dwight Clark

Florida State                Jimbo Fisher                                      Terrell Buckley                                   

Georgia Tech              Paul Johnson                                      Jon Barry

Maryland                     Ralph Friedgen                                  Stan Gelbaugh

Mississippi                   Houston Nutt                                     Wesley Walls

North Carolina             Butch Davis                                       Natrone Means

N.C. State                   Sidney Lowe                                     Monte Towe

South Carolina            Steve Spurrier                                  Sterling Sharpe

Vanderbilt                    Bobby Johnson                                Will Perdue

Virginia Tech               Frank Beamer                                 Brad Clontz

Wake Forest               Jim Grobe                                          Billy Packer

In addition to the $400,000 scholarship purse, an additional $135,000 was donated to Chick-fil-A's WinShape Homes, a long-term foster care program. The Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge is a significant contributor to the Chick-fil-A Bowl's overall annual charitable and scholarship donations. The Chick-fil-A Bowl leads all bowls in the country in charitable giving, including gifts of more than $5.8 million since 2002.

Past winners: 2009 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12, playoff winners), 2008 South Carolina (Spurrier/Sharpe / -12), 2007 Virginia Tech (Beamer/Dell Curry / -10).

The 2010 Chick-fil-A Bowl Challenge will air again on ESPN in December - on a date to be determined - the week leading into the Chick-fil-A Bowl.

For more information on the event, visit