Two Atlantic Coast Conference Football Greats Chosen for Hall of Fame

May 27, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C. – A pair of former consensus Football All-Americas from the Atlantic Coast Conference—Duke wide receiver Clarkston Hines and NC State defensive end Dennis Byrd—have been chosen for induction into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Archie Manning, the chairman of the National Football Foundation announced Thursday at a press conference in New York City.

Duke's Clarkston HinesByrd, originally from Lincolnton, N.C., who now resides in Elizabeth City, N.C., and Hines, originally from Chapel Hill, N.C., who now resides in Statesville, N.C., are part of the College Hall of Fame 2010 induction class of 12 former players and two coaches. They will be formerly inducted at the annual National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame banquet in New York City on December 7, 2010 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel.

Joining Byrd (1964-67) and Hines (1986-89) in the College Hall of Fame’s 2010 class are Ronnie Caveness, center, Arkansas (1962-64); Ray Childress, defensive lineman, Texas A&M (1981-84); Randy Cross, guard, UCLA (1973-75); Sam Cunningham, running back, Southern California (1970-72); Mark Herrmann, quarterback, Purdue (1977-80); Desmond Howard, wide receiver, Michigan (1989-91); Chet Moeller, defensive back, Navy (1973-75); Jerry Stovall, halfback, LSU (1960-62); Pat Tillman, linebacker, Arizona State (1994-97); Alfred Williams, linebacker, Colorado (1987-90); Barry Alvarez, Head Coach, Wisconsin; and Gene Stallings, Head Coach at Texas A&M (1965-71)and Alabama (1990-97)

Byrd and Hines become the 83rd and 84th former player or coach from current ACC schools to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Hines, the only ACC player to lead the conference in pass receiving yards in three consecutive seasons (1987-89), is the 12th former Duke player or coach chosen for the College Hall of Fame. Byrd, the first ACC player to earn All-Conference honors for three straight seasons, becomes the fifth former Wolfpacker to be chosen by the College Hall of Fame.

Coincidentally, both Byrd and Hines were honored by the Atlantic Coast Conference as part of its 2007 Football Legends Class at the Third Annual Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game held in Jacksonville, Fla.

“Dennis made his mark on the game as a terrific defensive performer,” said ACC Commissioner John Swofford. “He joins an incredible list of National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame honorees and continues to represent the ACC at the highest level.

"This is a well deserved honor for Clarkston," Swofford continued. "Having been recently honored as an ACC legend, I respect the fact that not only did he have a remarkable career in football, but he is an even better person." 

North Carolina State University
Defensive Tackle, 1964-67

The first player in Atlantic Coast Conference history to be named a three-time All-ACC selection, North Carolina State's Dennis Byrd becomes the fourth Wolfpack player inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Twice named a First Team All-American, Byrd was the first NC State player ever to garner consensus All- American honors. As a member of the Wolfpack's famed "White Shoes" defense, he led NC State to a share of the 1965 ACC title en route to earning the school's first-ever post-season appearance, defeating Georgia in the 1967 Liberty Bowl.

Drafted as the sixth overall pick in the 1968 NFL Draft, Byrd played only two seasons with the Boston Patriots due to a nagging knee injury sustained in the latter part of his senior season at NC State. He then embarked on a 30-year teaching and coaching career at the high school level and retired in 2001.

Byrd was named an ACC Football Legend and inducted into the NC State Sports Hall of Fame in 2007. He is also the only defensive player to have his jersey retired at his alma mater. Dennis and his wife Kimberly have four children, and they reside in Elizabeth City, N.C.

Duke University
Wide Receiver, 1986-89

The only player in ACC History to lead the league in receiving yards three consecutive seasons, Clarkston Hines holds the ACC record for career touchdown receptions (38).

A two-time First Team All-American, Hines was named ACC Athlete of the Year in 1989. He currently holds ten different receiving records at Duke including career receiving yards (3,318) and consecutive 100- yard receiving games (7). In 1989, he was named ACC Player of the Year en route to leading the Blue Devils to the ACC Championship. He was a three- time First Team All-ACC member and led the ACC in scoring in 1989 (104). Hines' holds the ACC single- season touchdown reception record (17) and 100- yard receiving games (17). Hines graduated as Duke's all time leader in points scored (234). He also received the Duke University Distinguished Service Award in 1989.

Selected in the ninth round by the Buffalo Bills in the 1989 draft, Hines played one season in the NFL. A member of the Duke Sports Hall of Fame, Hines was named to the ACC 50th Anniversary team. He is currently the Vice President of DaVita Inc., a large healthcare company. He and his wife Kathy reside in Statesville, N.C., with their four children.