Florida State's Deion Sanders, Miami's Russell Maryland Selected for the College Football Hall of Fame

May 17, 2011

NEW YORK & GREENSBORO, N.C.—Former Florida State cornerback Deion Sanders and Miami defensive tackle Russell Maryland were announced Tuesday as inductees into the College Football Hall of Fame by the National Football Foundation in New York City.

Their selection brings the total of 15 former players or coaches who have been tabbed for induction into the College Hall of Fame from current Atlantic Coast Conference schools over the last six years.

Sanders, who redefined the qualities of the position of cornerback during his four-year career for the Seminoles (1985-88) was named the winner of the Jim Thorpe Award as the nation’s top defensive back in 1988. That year, he led the nation in punt returns and finished 8th in the balloting for the Heisman Trophy. A two-time unanimous All-America, he led FSU to four bowl victories and to the first two of 14 consecutive AP top five finishes. He becomes the fifth former Florida State player and the seventh former FSU coach or player selected to the Hall of Fame.

Maryland, a dominating defensive tackle on Miami’s 1987 and 1989 National Championship football teams becomes the seventh Hurricane coach or player to be selected to the College Hall of Fame. A unanimous All-America as a senior in 1990, he also was presented with the Outland Trophy that year as the nation’s top interior lineman. A Lombardi Award finalist and the College Football Lineman of the Year by UPI, he helped Miami compile an impressive 44-4 record, including four bowl triumphs during his four seasons (1986-90) in Coral Gables.

Sanders and Maryland will be inducted at the annual National Football Foundation and Hall of Fame Banquet held on Tuesday, Dec. 6 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City.

They join 13 other former players or coaches from current ACC schools who have been selected for the Hall of Fame since 2006:

2006—Bobby Bowden, Head Coach, Florida State
2006—Charlie Ward, QB, Florida State
2006—Bennie Blades, DB, Miami
2006---Bruce Smith, DE, Virginia Tech
2007—Doug Flutie, QB, Boston College
2007—Jeff Davis, LB, Clemson
2008—Jim Dombrowski, T, Virginia
2008—Ron Simmons, NG, Florida State
2008—Lou Holtz, Coach, NC State (also Notre Dame, Minnesota, South Carolina)
2009—Pat Swilling, DE, Georgia Tech
2009—Gino Torretta, QB, Florida State
2010—Dennis Byrd, DE, NC State
2010—Clarkston Hines, WR, Duke
2011—Deion Sanders, CB, Florida State
2011—Russell Maryland, DT, Miami