NC State's Ted Brown, Miami's Vinny Testaverde Voted To The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame

May 7, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( — A pair of standout players from Atlantic Coast Conference schools—NC State’s Ted Brown and Miami’s Vinny Testaverde—were  named Tuesday to be among the newest class of inductees into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

Tuesday’s announcement came during a press conference at the NASDAQ OMX MarketSite in the heart of Times Square.

Since 2006, ACC schools have had 18 former players and coaches inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame and now total 95 inductees.

Brown and Testaverde will be inducted as part of a the 2013 College Football Hall of Fame Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Class  at the 56th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 10, 2013, at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City. They will be honored guests at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Allstate Sugar Bowl in New Orleans on January 2, 2014 and officially enshrined in the summer of 2014.

Brown, a native of High Point, N.C., is one of the great running backs in Atlantic Coast Conference history. He is still the ACC’s all-time record holder for career rushing yardage, having totaled 4,602 yards in a spectacular four-year (1975-78) career for the Wolfpack.  Brown played in an era where bowl game statistics were not included among career totals, which would have added an additional 399 yards, giving him 5,001 yards for his career.

A consensus All-American as a senior, Brown is the only football player in ACC history to be named first-team All-ACC four times. He still holds ACC career marks for most 100-yard games (27) and most rushing touchdowns (49) and he topped 1,000 rushing yards in three of his four seasons with the Wolfpack. He went on to an eight-year career in the National Football League with the Minnesota Vikings, rushing for over 4,500 yards and 53 touchdowns.

Brown becomes seventh former NC State player or coach to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame joining Dennis Byrd (2010), Lou Holtz (2009), Jim Ritcher (1998), Roman Gabriel (1989), Jack McDowall (1975) and Buck Shaw (1972).

One of the most celebrated players in a Miami program stocked with mythical talent, Vinny Testaverde claimed virtually every major award during his senior season in 1986. He becomes the ninth Hurricane to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame joining Jimmy Johnson (2012), Russell Maryland (2011), Gino Torretta (2009), Bennie Blades (2006), Don Bosseler (1990), Ted Hendricks (1987), Andy Gustafson (1985) and Jack Harding (1980).

As a senior, Testaverde (1982, 1984-86) earned unanimous First-Team All-American honors, and he won the Heisman Trophy, the Walter Camp Player of the Year, Maxwell, Davey O’Brien and UPI Player of the Year awards. He led the Canes to three consecutive bowls, including the 1987 Fiesta Bowl National Championship game. He finished his collegiate career with more than 6,000 passing yards and 48 touchdown passes, and he still ranks in the top five in virtually every passing category in school history. Testaverde, who was a redshirt on Miami’s 1983 National Championship team, went 23-3 as a starter playing for legendary coaches Howard Schnellenberger and Hall of Famer Jimmy Johnson.

Tampa Bay selected Testaverde as the No. 1 overall selection in the 1987 NFL Draft, and his pro career spanned 21 seasons with seven different teams. The 1998 All-Pro and two-time Pro Bowl selection finished his NFL career seventh all-time in passing yards (46,233) and eighth in touchdowns (275).

The Elmont, N.Y., native currently resides in Florida where he plays an active role with the Children’s Cancer Center of Tampa. Testaverde remains among only four Hurricanes to have their jerseys retired at Miami.



– TB, North Carolina State (1975-78)

· TEDY BRUSCHI – DE, Arizona (1992-95)

· RON DAYNE – RB, Wisconsin (1996-99)

· TOMMIE FRAZIER – QB, Nebraska (1992-95)

· JERRY GRAY – DB, Texas (1981-84)

· STEVE MEILINGER – E, Kentucky (1951-53)

· ORLANDO PACE – OT, Ohio State (1994-96)

· ROD SHOATE (deceased) – LB, Oklahoma (1972-74)

· PERCY SNOW – LB, Michigan State (1986-89)

· VINNY TESTAVERDE – QB, Miami, Fla. (1982, 1984-86)

· DON TRULL – QB, Baylor (1961-63)

· DANNY WUERFFEL – QB, Florida (1993-96)


· WAYNE HARDIN – 118-74-5 (61.2%); Navy (1959-64) and Temple (1970-82)

· BILL McCARTNEY – 93-55-5 (62.4%); Colorado (1982-94)