ACC Has Connections To 20 Players Or Coaches In Super Bowl

Feb. 3, 2011

Greensboro, N.C.— No fewer than 20 players or coaches on the Super Bowl participating teams have connections to current Atlantic Coast Conference schools. Below is a listing of players and coaches from the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Green Bay Packers who have connections to current Atlantic Coast Conference schools.

Also five former Super Bowl MVPs have been from current ACC schools. They are listed as well.

Pittsburgh Steelers (13)
Coaches (3)

Bruce Arians, Offensive Coordinator
Quarterback at Virginia Tech (1971-74)
Graduate Assistant Coach at Virginia Tech (1975)

Scottie Montgomery, Assistant Coach, Wide Receivers
Lettered four season as a wide receiver at Duke
Assistant Coach, Wide Receivers, Duke (2006-09)

Jerry Olsavsky, Defensive Assistant
One season as strength coach at North Carolina (2002).

Players (10)
Crezdon Butler, DB, Clemson
Jonathan Dwyer, RB, Georgia Tech
Nick Eason, DE, Clemson
James Farrior, ILB, Virginia
Keyaron Fox, LB, Georgia Tech
Bryant McFadden, CB, Florida State
Heath Miller, TE, Virginia
Lawrence Timmons, ILB, Florida State
Greg Warren, LS, North Carolina
Jason Worilds, OLB, Virginia Tech

Green Bay Packers (7)
Coaches (3)

Winston Moss, Assistant Head Coach, Inside Linebackers
Lettered four years at Miami (1983-86) including 1983 National Championship Team

Edgar Bennett, Assistant Coach, Running Backs
Four–year starter at fullback for Florida State (1987-91)
Florida State Athletics Hall of Fame

Jimmy Robinson, Assistant Coach, Wide Receivers
Lettered four years as wide receiver at Georgia Tech (1971-74)
Assistant Coach at Georgia Tech (1987-89)
Georgia Tech Athletics Hall of Fame 

Players (4)
B. J. Raji, NT, Boston College
Sam Shields, CB, Miami
Robert Francois, LB, Boston College
Morgan Burnett, DB, Georgia Tech (IR)

Super Bowl MVPs with ACC Connections
There are five former Super Bowl MVPs who played at a current ACC school

Year MVP, Teams, Score. (Super Bowl)
1977—Fred Biletnikoff (Florida State), Oakland Raiders over Minnesota Vikings, 32-14. (Super Bowl XI)
1978—Randy White (Maryland), Dallas Cowboys over Denver Broncos, 27-12. (Super Bowl XII)
1991—Ottis Anderson (Miami), New York Giants over Buffalo Bills, 20-19. (Super Bowl XXV)
2001—Ray Lewis (Miami), Baltimore Ravens over New York Giants, 34-7. (Super Bowl XXXV)
2003—Dexter Jackson (Florida State), Tampa Bay Buccaneers over Oakland Raiders. 48-21. (Super Bowl XXXVII)