ACC Has 13 Players in the 85th East-West Shrine Game

Jan. 22, 2010

The Atlantic Coast Conference has 13 players from eight schools who have accepted invitations to play in the 85th East-West Shrine Game. The Game will be held January 23, 2010, in Orlando, Fla., kicking off at 3 p.m. All 13 players will represent the East.

The East-West Shrine Game is the oldest and one of the most respected of the post-season collegiate bowl games. Since 1925, the game has been known for the quality of the players and coaches, as well as for the excitement of great college football action. The true purpose of the game is to help to support Shriners Hospitals for Children.

The eight ACC schools sending players are Boston College, Clemson Georgia Tech, NC State, Miami, Virginia, Virginia Tech, and Wake Forest. For Boston College, inside linebacker Mike McLaughlin accepted an invite while a trio of Tigers will head to Orlando to represent Clemson – offensive guard Thomas Austin, cornerback Chris Chancellor and outside linebacker Kavell Conner.

The remaining ACC student-athletes representing the East include offensive guard Cord Howard from Georgia Tech, NC State defensive end Willie Young, running back Javarris James and Center A.J. Trump from Miami, defensive tackle Nate Collins from Virginia, Virginia Tech free safety Kam Chancellor, offensive guard Sergio Render and cornerback Stephen Virgil. Rounding out the list is Wake Forest offensive guard Chris DeGeare.

To learn more about the game and Shriners Hospital visit the official website of the East-West Shrine Game at: