ACC Schools Place 18 In 2011 Under Armour Senior Bowl

Jan. 19, 2011

GREENSBORO, NC--No fewer than 18 student-athletes from Atlantic Coast Conference schools have been invited to the 62nd Annual Under Armour Senior Bowl, which will be played Saturday, January 29 in Ladd-Peebles Stadium in Mobile, Ala. The game will have a 3 pm (ET) kickoff and will be televised by the NFL Network. In addition, all practices for the game will also be televised by the NFL Network.

Only the SEC (22) has had more players invited to this year's Senior Bowl.

The Senior Bowl is college football's premier pre-draft event, annually featuring the nation's best senior collegiate football stars and top NFL draft prospects on teams coached by NFL coaching staffs. Senior Bowl practices and game week festivities are attended by more than 800 general managers, head coaches, assistant coaches, scouts and other front office personnel from all 32 National Football League teams, making Mobile and the Senior Bowl the week-long host to a one-of-a-kind NFL Coaches Convention.

In all, nine ACC schools have at least one student-athlete chosen for the 2011 Senior Bowl including three schools with three players each in Clemson (CB Marcus Gilchrist, DT Jarvis Jenkins, S DeAndre McDaniel), Miami (DL Allen Bailey, WR Leonard Hankerson, LB Colin McCarthy) and North Carolina (DB Kendric Burney, DB Da'Norris Searcy, LB Quan Sturdivant).

Three ACC schools are represented by two players each in Boston College (T Anthony Castonzo, LB Mark Herzlich), Florida State (QB Christian Ponder, G Rodney Hudson) and Virginia (DB Ras-I Dowling, LS Danny Aiken).

Three more schools--Georgia Tech (RB Anthony Allen), NC State (LB Nate Irving) and Virginia Tech (DB Rashad Carmichael) had one invitee each.


ACC Under Armour Senior Bowl Invitees
Boston College: OL Anthony Castonzo; LB Mark Herzlich.
Clemson: DB Marcus Gilchrist, DL Jarvis Jenkins; DB DeAndre McDaniel
Florida State: OL Rodney Hudson; QB Christian Ponder
Georgia Tech: RB Anthony Allen
Miami: DL Allen Bailey, WR Leonard Hankerson, ILB Colin McCarthy
North Carolina: DB Kendric Burney, DB Da'Norris Searcy; LB Quan Sturdivant
NC State: LB Nate Irving
Virginia: LS Danny Aiken, DB Ras-I Dowling
Virginia Tech: DB Rashad Carmichael