ACC Leads All With 24 2011 NFL Pro Bowl Selections

Jan. 18, 2011 (updated January 26, 2011)

GREENSBORO, NC--For the third straight year, the Atlantic Coast Conference leads all conferences by a wide margin in the number of former football standouts selected from its current schools to play in the National Football League's Pro Bowl, which will be held on Sunday, January 30 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu, Hawaii and will be nationally televised by FOX.

Current ACC schools saw 24 of their former standouts selected to play in this year's Pro Bowl. The Southeastern Conference and the Pac-10 Conference were second with 15 selections each. The Big Ten and the Big 12 Conferences had 11 selections apice.

The ACC also led all conferences in number of starting players named to the Pro Bowl, with 12 of its 19 selections tabbed as starters. The Big Ten was second with seven starters, followed by the Pac-10 (5), the SEC (4) and the Big East, Big 12, Conference USA and the Mid-American Conference with three starters each. Miami led all individual schools with 10 of its former standouts playing in the Pro Bowl, far and away the most of any single school. Tennessee was next with six followed by Southern California and California each with four selections and Purdue and Texas with three. A total of 14 schools had two selections, including five ACC schools in Boston College, North Carolina, NC State, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest. Four other ACC schools had one selection each including Florida State, Georgia Tech, Maryland and Virginia.

Tabbed to play in this year’s Pro Bowl Game from Miami were wide receivers Reggie Wayne (Indianapolis) and Andre Johnson (Texas); defensive lineman Vince Wilfork (New England); linebackers Ray Lewis (Baltimore), Jonathan Vilma (New Orleans) and Jon Beeson (Carolina); defensive backs Ed Reed (Baltimore), Antrel Rolle (Arizona) and Brandon Meriweather (New England); and return specialist Devin Hester (Chicago).

Joining them from Boston College were quarterback Matt Ryan (Atlanta) and offensive guard Chris Snee (New York Giants); from North Carolina were defensive end Julius Peppers (Chicago) and center Jeff Saturday (Indianapolis); from NC State were quarterback Philip Rivers (San Diego) and safety Adrian Wilson (Arizona); from Virginia Tech were quarterback Michael Vick (Philadelphia) and cornerback DeAngelo Hall (Washington); and from Wake Forest were offensive tackle Tyson Clabo (Atlanta) and fullback Ovie Mughelli (Atlanta).

Florida State has defensive tackle Darnell Dockett (Arizona). Georgia Tech is represented by wide receiver Calvin Johnson (Detroit). Maryland’s pick is defensive end Randy Starks (Miami) and Virginia’s selection is offensive tackle D’Brickashaw Ferguson (New York Jets).

ACC players voted as starters include Miami’s Devin Hester, Ray Lewis, Ed Reed, Vince Wilfork and Reggie Wayne; Boston College’s Chris Snee, Georgia Tech’s Calvin Johnson, North Carolina’s Julius Peppers, NC State’s Adrian Wilson, Virginia’s D’Brickashaw Ferguson, Virginia Tech’s Michael Vick and Wake Forest’s Ovie Mulghelli.

Players from Current ACC Schools By School
Name Position NFL Team Conference
Miami (10)
Jon Beeson Linebacker Carolina National
Devin Hester Returner Chicago National
Andre Johnson Wide Receivers Texas American
Ray Lewis Linebacker Baltimore American
Brandon Meriweather Safety New England American
Ed Reed Safety Baltimore National
Antrel Rolle Free Safety Arizona National
Reggie Wayne Wide Receiver Indianapolis American
Vince Wilfork Defensive Lineman New England American
Jonathan Vilma Linebacker New Orleans National
Boston College (2)
Matt Ryan Quarterback Atlanta Falcons National
Chris Snee Offensive Guard New York Giants National
North Carolina (2)
Julius Peppers Defensive End Chicago National
Jeff Saturday Center Indianapolis American
NC State (2)
Philip Rivers Quarterback San Diego American
Adrian Wilson Safety Arizona National
Virginia Tech (2)
DeAngelo Hall Cornerback Washington National
Michael Vick Quarterback Philadelphia National
Wake Forest (1)
Tyson Clabo Offensive Tackle Atlanta National
Ovie Mulghelli Fullback Atlanta Falcons


Florida State (1)
Darnell Dockett Defensive Tackle Arizona National
Georgia Tech (1)
Calvin Johnson Wide Receiver Detroit National
Maryland (1)
Randy Starks Defensive End Miami American
Virginia (1)
D'Brickashaw Ferguson Offensive Tackle New York Jets American


Pro Bowl Selections By FBS Conference
Pl. Conference No
1 Atlantic Coast Conference 24
T2 Southeastern Conference
Pac-10 Conference
T4 Big Ten Conference
Big 12 Conference
6 Big East Conference 6
7 Mid-American Conference 5
T8 Conference USA
Mountain West Conference
10 Western Athletic Conference 3
11 Sunbelt Conference 2


 Pro Bowl Selections By School
T3Southern California
T5Perdue, Texas3
T6Arizona State, Boston College, East Carolina, Kent State, LSU, Michigan, Nebraska, North CarolinaNC State, Ohio State, Pittsburgh, Rutgers, UCLA, Virginia Tech, W. Michigan2