ACC Unveils 2013 ACC Tournament Logo

Oct. 10, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - The Atlantic Coast Conference on Wednesday unveiled the logo for the 2013 ACC Tournament, slated for March 14-17, 2013. This year's event will mark the 24th time it has been held at the Greensboro Coliseum.

All 12 league teams will participate in the tournament, with the winner receiving the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament. The bracket will be seeded according to the final regular-season standings with the top four finishers receiving first-round byes.

First played in 1954 at Reynolds Coliseum on the NC State campus, the ACC Tournament quickly grew into one of the premier events in all of college sports. Of the 12 conference teams that have captured NCAA titles, seven - North Carolina in 1957 and 1982, NC State in 1974 and 1983, and Duke in 1992, 2001 and 2010 - rode the momentum of an ACC Tournament championship to the national crown.

The event is known for classic contests, including NC State's 103-100 overtime win over Maryland in the1974 finals that is regarded as one of the greatest games in the history of college basketball. Large media contingents are synonymous with the ACC Tournament, and ESPN and the ACC Network are once again set to provide national and regional television coverage.

Close to two million fans have attended the previous 23 ACC Tournaments at the Greensboro Coliseum, and close to five million have made their way through the turnstiles at 11 total venues over the past six decades. The 2001 tournament, held at Atlanta's Georgia Dome, established NCAA conference tournament records for total attendance (182,525), per session attendance (36,505) and single-session attendance (40,083).

Eight ACC teams have claimed at least one championship, including defending champion Florida State, which captured the ACC Tournament title for the first time in 2012.