Miami's Larrañaga AP Coach of the Year

April 4, 2013

ATLANTA (AP) - Jim Larrañaga, who led Miami to the Atlantic Coast Conference regular season and tournament titles and a No. 2 ranking, has been selected The Associated Press' Coach of the Year.

Larrañaga received 29 votes Thursday from the same 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly Top 25. Jim Crews of Saint Louis got 19 votes and Mark Few of Gonzaga had 11. The voting ended on Selection Sunday.

The 63-year-old, two-time-hip-replacement patient had a 29-7 record in his second season with the Hurricanes and they were made a No. 2 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

He is the first Miami coach to win the award and is the first Atlantic Coast Conference coach to get it since Roy Williams of North Carolina in 2006.

The New York native led George Mason to the Final Four in 2006.

Larrañaga becomes the fourth coach of an ACC school to earn the AP honor.

Coaches of ACC Schools Named AP Coach of the Year
2013 - Jim Larrañaga, Miami
2006 - Roy Williams, North Carolina
2001 - Matt Doherty, North Carolina
1974 - Norm Sloan, North Carolina State