Three ACC Student-Athletes Highlight The 2012 State Farm College Slam Dunk Contest

March 29, 2012

CHICAGO - Duke's Miles Plumlee, Clemson's Bryan Narcise and Miamis DeQuan Jones highlight the 2012 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, Intersport announced. The 24th annual event will air live at 8 p.m. Thursday on ESPN. The event will take place at Fogelman Arena on the campus of Tulane University.

Plumlee, Narcise and Jones will be competing in the 2012 Denny's Slam Dunk Championship. Additional contestants include: Kenny Gabriel (Auburn); David Kyles (Wichita State); Olu Ashaolu (Oregon); William Mosley (Northwestern State); and James Justice (Martin Methodist).

The celebrity judges panel for the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship will include: former Duke University point guard, two-time national champion and alum of the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships Bobby Hurley; current New Orleans Saints running back Pierre Thomas; current New Orleans Saints tight end and former Miami basketball player Jimmy Graham; and four-time NBA Champion John Salley.

The "Fifth Judge" of the Denny's Slam Dunk Championship will be the fans, who will be able to vote via Twitter. For the first time in the history of the event, fans will help decide which dunkers move on each round by using #CollegeSlam, followed by the player's name and a score of one through 10 (E.g. #CollegeSlam #Smith10). From there the fan scores will be averaged. That rating will be paired with the four celebrity judges' scores to make up each player's total score.